South African Sign Language 12th official language

Speaker Daylin Mitchell has welcomed the news that the National Assembly, during its plenary sitting on Tuesday, 2 May, adopted an amendment to section 6 of the Constitution, unanimously endorsing South African Sign Language as the 12th official language of South Africa.


“I welcome the National Assembly’s decision. This is an important step in recognising the rights of the more than four million deaf and hard of hearing people in South Africa. Not only is this positive for providing access to services and information for people that are deaf and hard of hearing, but also for the promotion and development of South African Sign Language,” says Speaker Mitchell.


All sittings and major public events of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament include interpreting services in South African Sign Language, as well as on its livestreams.

Feature on Home Page Carousel: