Welcome to the Western Cape Provincial Parliament

The Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP) is one of the nine provincial legislatures in South Africa.

Based in Cape Town, the WCPP is constitutionally mandated to pass legislation, provide a forum for public debate, involve the public in the law-making process, and oversee the activities of the provincial executive.

The WCPP consists of 42 Members, elected every five years on a proportional representation system. The Premier and members of the provincial Cabinet are appointed from these Members.

This website contains information about the role and function of the WCPP, news, parliamentary activities including sitting and standing committee meetings, Members of the Provincial Parliament (MPP), legislation, publications, career opportunities, etc.

Please feel free to browse the site. Should you be unable to find what you are looking for, please contact the Webmaster.


Content Tabs

Welcome From Speaker

Thank you for visiting our website. I am Daylin Mitchell, the elected Speaker of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP).


Our website plays a crucial role as a one-stop information hub for all your parliamentary information needs. See what is happening at the WCPP by viewing our calendar or download one of our many publications, including all the Papers of the House, transcriptions of proceedings (Hansard) and educational material. You can also view the livestreams of the sittings of the House and committee meetings: simply click on ‘LIVE’ on the homepage.