Welcome to the Western Cape Provincial Parliament

The Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP) is one of the nine provincial legislatures in South Africa.

Based in Cape Town, the WCPP is constitutionally mandated to pass legislation, provide a forum for public debate, involve the public in the law-making process, and oversee the activities of the provincial executive.

The WCPP consists of 42 Members, elected every five years on a proportional representation system. The Premier and members of the provincial Cabinet are appointed from these Members.

This website contains information about the role and function of the WCPP, news, parliamentary activities including sitting and standing committee meetings, Members of the Provincial Parliament (MPP), legislation, publications, career opportunities, etc.

Please feel free to browse the site. Should you be unable to find what you are looking for, please contact the Webmaster.


Read More

Content Tabs

  • The National Council of Provinces (NCOP) will be hosting the Taking Parliament to the People programme in Oudtshoorn, Western Cape, at Bridgton Sports Grounds from 13 to 17 April 2015.

  • From 19 to 26 March, the budgets of all Western Cape Government departments, 14 votes in total, will be debated in the Western Cape Provincial Parliament.

  • To download the Premier's State of the Province Address, tabled on 20 February, click here.

  • The Vice President (Deputy Speaker) of the German Bundestag, Hon Ulla Schmidt, accompanied by the Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group on SADC States and the Standing Committee on Sport, Hon Dagm

  • The Western Cape Provincial Parliament appointed Ms Hamida Fakira as its new Secretary and Accounting Officer with effect from February 2015.

Welcome From Speaker

Welcome and thank you for taking the time to visit our website. I am Sharna Fernandez, the elected Speaker of the 5th Parliament of the Western Cape.




Read More