

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/11

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Friday, 24 July 2020 (at 15:30), Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Baartman, DM Maseko, LM Van Der Westhuizen, AP (Chairperson)

African National Congress

Marran, P Smith, D (Additional Member)

Good Party

Herron, BN

The following persons were in attendance:

Ministry of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr A Bredell: Minister

Mr M du Randt: Head of Ministry

Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr P van Zyl: Head of Department Ms O Samuels: Chief Financial Officer

Ms K Shippey: Chief Director - Environmental Sustainability Mr G Arendse: Chief Director - Environmental Quality

Mr A Mohammed: Chief Director - Environmental Governance, Policy Co-ordination and

Enforcement

Mr J Fritz: Director - Financial Management

Mr A Gaffoor: Director - Strategic and Operational Support

Ms W Kloppers: Director – Pollution and Chemical Waste Management

Dr J Leaner: Director – Air Quality Management Mr G Gerber: Director – Development Facilitation Mr R Mukanya: Director – Sustainability Mr G Isaacs: Director - Climate Change

Mr K Munro: Director - Development Planning

Mr R van Jaarsveldt: Deputy Director - Communications

CapeNature

Dr R Omar: Chief Executive Officer Mr M Bhayat: Chief Financial Officer

Ms S Ismail: Executive Director – Eco Tourism and Access

WCPP Officials

Ms S Niekerk: Procedural Officer

Mr J Vermeulen: Senior Procedural Officer

Mr T Abbas: Information Technology Software & Hardware Support Officer

Ms C Morris: Information Technology Assistant Mr S Hassam: Information Technology Assistant

1. Opening and Welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Head of Department, the Chief Executive Officer of CapeNature and the departmental officials.

2. Deliberation on Vote 9: Environmental Affairs and Development Planning in the Schedule to the Western Cape Adjustments Appropriation (COVID-19) Bill (2020/21 Financial Year) [B 4–2020]

The Department briefed the Committee on Vote 9 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Adjustments Appropriation (COVID-19) Bill (2020/21 Financial Year) [B 4–2020] outlining the origin and principles of the reduction on the adjusted estimate.

The Committee deliberated after which it agreed to support the Vote. The African National Congress expressed a minority view to not support the Vote, and that this be included in the Report.

The Good Party stated that it would abstain from giving a view on the Vote as it requires more time to consider the Bill in its entirety.

3. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Report on Vote 9: Environmental Affairs and Development Planning in the Schedule to the Western Cape Adjustments Appropriation (COVID-19) Bill (2020/21 Financial Year) [B 4–2020]

Upon conclusion of its deliberations the Chairperson submitted a Draft Report which was considered and adopted.

4. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee REQUESTED that CapeNature provide it with a copy of its presentation on the adjusted budget.

The Chairperson expressed his appreciation to the members, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Head of Department, the Chief Executive Officer of CapeNature as well as the officials from the Western Cape Provincial Parliament for their contribution to the success of the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 16:25.

MR AP VAN DER WESTHUIZEN, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Date:28 July 2020......