

## Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/11

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

## STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Wednesday, 12 August 2020 (at 14:00), Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

## **PRESENT**

### **Members**

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Baartman, DM Maseko, LM Van Der Westhuizen, AP (Chairperson)

#### **African National Congress**

Marran, P

#### GOOD

Herron, BN

### The following persons were in attendance:

#### **National Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries**

Dr T Khumalo Acting Deputy Director-General: Climate Change and Air Quality

Ms F Craigee Chief Director: Enforcement

Dr D Fisher Chief Director: Environmental Impact Management

Ms M Govender Chief Director: Chemicals and Waste Branch

Dr M Tshitangoni Chemicals and Waste Branch
Ms N Vink Director: Law Reform Cape Town

Mr V Senene Director: Air Quality Management Services
Ms O Khumalo Director: Biodiversity and Conservation

Mr M Jardine Director: Enforcement

Ms A van Reenen Acting Director: Law Reform Pretoria and Director National Environmental

Management Act Support

Ms M Boshoff Deputy Director: Biodiversity and Conservation

## **Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning**

Mr A Mohamed Chief Director: Environmental Governance, Policy Co-ordination and

Enforcement

Mr P Hardcastle Director: Planning and Policy Co-ordination
Ms M Laros Director: Biodiversity and Coastal Management
Ms A Rossouw Directorate: Planning and Policy Co-ordination

#### **Department of the Premier**

Ms M Melim State Law Advisor

### **South African Local Government Association Western Cape**

Ms S Harigobin Senior Advisor: Trading Services

Mr L Njamela Advisor: Intergovernmental Relations and Strategic Relations

## **Centre for Environmental Rights**

Ms D Midgley Environmental Law Specialist

Ms N Loser Attorney
Ms T Mugunyani Attorney

#### **WCPP Officials**

Ms S Niekerk Procedural Officer

Mr J Vermeulen Senior Procedural Officer

Adv A le Roux Senior Law Advisor

Mr T Abbas Information Technology Software & Hardware Support Officer

Ms C Morris Information Technology Assistant

### 1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, officials from the National Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries, the Provincial Department of Environmental Affairs, the South African Local Government Association as well as the representatives from the Centre for Environmental Rights.

The Chairperson explained the meeting procedure for video conferencing.

# 2. Verbal presentation on the National Environmental Management Laws Amendment Bill [B 14D-2017] (NEMLA Bill)

The Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning and the Centre for Environmental Rights provided the Committee with a summary of their written submissions on the NEMLA Bill. Specific clauses and concerns were highlighted and possible amendments proposed. The National Department on Environment, Forestry and Fisheries were given an opportunity to respond to the respective comments and concerns. Similarly, questions of clarity by the Committee were also responded to.

The Committee deliberated.

## 3. Resolutions/Actions

- 3.1 The Committee REQUESTED that, where the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning is in disagreement with the amendments proposed by the National Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries, it provides the Committee with an alternative proposal to those specific amendments.
- 3.2 The Committee RESOLVED that it would postpone its meeting that was scheduled for 18 August 2020 to a date after 21 August 2020 in order to accommodate the National Department of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries' request to submit their response on the written submissions received by 21 August 2020.

#### 4. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Minutes

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 28 July 2020, which were considered and adopted.

The Chairperson informed the Committee that the oversight visit to the Overstrand area on 1 and 2 September 2020 would be going ahead as planned and that it has been included on the Parliamentary Programme. The Chairperson expressed his appreciation to Members who have indicated their availability for this visit and their preferred mode of transport. The Chairperson further expressed his appreciation to the Members and the officials for their contributions to the success of the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 16:30.

MR AP VAN DER WESTHUIZEN, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Date: .....25 August 2020.....