

# Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

# MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS STANDING COMMITTEE ON PREMIER AND CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS Wednesday, 10 June 2020 (16:00) Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

#### **ATTENDANCE**

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Allen, R Mitchell, D (Acting Chairperson) (alternate) Philander, W

#### **Additional Members**

Kama, M (ANC) Herron, BN (GOOD) Wenger, MM (DA) Marais, PJ (FFP)

## **Apologies**

Mackenzie R (DA) Botha, LJ (DA)

## **Public Attendance Register**

See below

#### The following persons were in attendance:

#### **Department of the Premier**

Mr A Winde, Premier of the Western Cape

Mr H Malila, Director-General

Ms H Fast

Mr R Shaw

Ms A Diesel

Ms A Marthinus

Mr C Wicht

Ms C Murry

Mr F Watkins

Ms G Dereymaeker

#### **Department of Community Safety**

Mr A Fritz, Minister

Mr G Morris, Head of Department Mr T Wingrove Ms Y Pillay

#### **Western Cape Provincial Parliament**

Ms W Achmat, Procedural Officer
Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer

#### 1. Welcome and attendance

Before the commencement of the meeting the Committee had to elect an acting chairperson for the meeting in the absence of the Chairperson, Mr Mackenzie.

In accordance with Rule 82(3) of the Standing Rules of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament, "In the absence of the Chairperson from the meeting, the Committee must elect one of its members to be acting chairperson at the meeting". The Committee elected Mr D Mitchell as the Acting Chairperson for this meeting.

The Acting Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Committee Members.

The Chairperson informed the Committee that Mr Mackenzie and Ms Botha submitted an apology.

1. Update by the Department of the Premier and the Department of Community Safety on the Western Cape Safety Strategy Plan

The Premier, Minister and their Team briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee engaged the officials on the content of the presentation.

2. Consideration and adoption of the Draft Committee Minutes of the meetings held on 17 March 2020

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 17 March 2020, which were considered and adopted.

Having concluded its business for the day, the meeting adjourned at 17h45.

**MR R MACKENZIE** 

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON PREMIER AND CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS

**DATE: 24 July 2020** 

TITLE	INITIALS	SURNAME	DESIGNATION POSITION	DEPARTMENT INSTITUTION
Mr	А	Winde	Premier	Department of the Premier
Mr	A	Fritz	Minister	Dept of Community Safety
Mr	Н	Malila	Director-General	Department of the Premier
Mr	G	Morris	Head of Department	Department of Community Safety
Dr	Н	Fast		
Mr	Т	Wingrove		Department of Community Safety
Ms	A	Marthinus		Department of the Premier
Mr	С	Wicht		
Ms	С	Murray		
Mr	F	Watkins		
Ms	G	Dereymaeker		
Mr	R	Shaw		Department of the Premier
Ms	Υ	Pillay		