PARLIAMENT OF THE PROVINCE OF THE WESTERN CAPE

ORDER PAPER

THURSDAY, 17 NOVEMBER 2016

HOUSE: 14:15

INTERPELLATIONS AND QUESTIONS

QUESTIONS TO THE PREMIER WITHOUT NOTICE

Mr S G Tyatyam Mr D G Mitchell Ms M M Wenger Ms D Gopie

STATEMENTS BY MEMBERS

MOTIONS

DRAFT RESOLUTION

Mr P J C Pretorius: That the House, noting that:

- (a) In terms of section 1 (e) of the *Parliamentary and Provincial Medical Aid Scheme Act*, (Act 28 of 1975), membership of Parmed, in relation to Members of a provincial legislature, becomes compulsory once a provincial legislature has resolved to confirm such compulsory membership;
- (b) the Rules Committee, on behalf of the Western Cape Provincial Legislature, resolved on 15 April 1996 (Report of the Rules Committee containing the resolution tabled in the Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, dated 8 May 1996) that the abovementioned provision of the Act would apply to members, thereby confirming the compulsory membership of Parmed of Members of the Western Cape Provincial Legislature;
- (c) pursuant to the adoption of the abovementioned Report and resolution in 1996 membership of Parmed has always been regarded as compulsory for Members of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament, and the Western Cape Provincial Parliament, by its conduct, signified that the resolution was intended to operate in perpetuity,

therefore **RESOLVES** to:

- (1) affirm its intention for the said Act to apply to its Members; and
- (2) affirm its intention for this resolution to be in force until such time as the Western Cape Provincial Parliament, by resolution, may determine otherwise.

ORDERS OF THE DAY

- 1. Consideration and Finalisation of the *Western Cape Liquor Amendment Bill* [B 4 B–2016 (Minister of Community Safety).
- 2. Consideration of Report of the Disciplinary Committee on the conduct of Members P Uys, S G Tyatyam and R T Olivier dated 15 September 2016. (See Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports, No 73, dated 5 October 2016, p 182).

MOTIONS (Continued)

Contingent motion:

Mr L H Max: That, in pursuance of the acceptance by the House today of the report of the Disciplinary Committee (see *Announcements, Tablings and Committee Reports,* dated 5 October 2016), and with specific reference to the sanction proposed in paragraph 9(3), the House instructs Mr Uys to forthwith apologise unconditionally to the House and the Speaker verbally.

FURTHER BUSINESS

NOTICE OF MOTIONS

See also: Mr C M Dugmore (p 11); Mr K E Magaxa (p 11); Ms M M Wenger (p 11); Mr L H Max (p 11); Mr R T Olivier (p 11); Mr B D Joseph (p 11); Ms D Gopie (p 11); Ms L M Maseko (p 11); Ms P Makeleni (p 12); Ms D Gopie (p 12); Ms M N Gillion (p 12); Mr S G Tyatyam (p 12); Mr K E Magaxa (p 12); Mr B D Joseph (p 12); Mr M G E Wiley (p 12); Ms T M Dijana (p 12); Mr R T Olivier (p 12); Mr C M Dugmore (p 12); Mr R T Olivier (p 13); Ms B A Schäfer (p 13); Mr B D Kivedo (p 13); Mr N E Hinana (p 13); Mr M Mnqasela (p 13); Mr R B Lentit (p 14); Mr R D Mackenzie (p 14); Mr D Joseph (p 14); Ms P L Lekker (p 14); Mr K E Magaxa (p 14); Mr Q R Dyantyi (p 14); Ms D Gopie (p 15); Mr K E Magaxa (p 15); Ms T M Dijana (p 15); Ms L M Maseko (p 15); Mr N E Hinana (p 15); Ms P L Lekker (p 15); Mr M Mnqasela (p 15); Ms L M Maseko (p 16); Mr C M Dugmore (p 16); Mr R T Olivier (p 17); Ms D Gopie (p 17); Mr N E Hinana (p 17); Mr C M Dugmore (p 18); Mr R T Olivier (p 18);); Mr R B Lentit (p 18); Mr S G Tyatyam (p 18); Mr N E Hinana (p 18); Mr D Joseph (p 18); Ms M N Gillion (p 18); Mr M Mnqasela (p 18); Ms T M Dijana (p 18); Mr P Uys (p 18); Ms D Gopie (p 18); Mr D G Mitchell (p 20); Ms D Gopie (p 20); Ms P L Lekker (p 20); Mr R T Olivier (p 20); Mr K E Magaxa (p 20); Mr C M Dugmore (p 20); Mr K E Magaxa (p 21); Mr R T Olivier (p 21); Mr S G Tyatyam (p 21); Ms M N Gillion (p 21); Mr M Mnqasela (p 21); Mr C M Dugmore (p 21); Mr M G E Wiley (p 21); Mr D G Mitchell (p 21); Ms S W Davids (p 22); Ms T M Dijana (p 22); Ms L M Maseko (p 22); Mr R T Olivier (p 22); Ms D Gopie (p 18); Mr D Joseph (p 22); Mr R T Olivier (p 23); Ms P Makeleni (p 23); Mr Q R Dyantyi (p 23); Ms M N Gillion (p 23); Ms L M Maseko (p 23); Mr M Mnqasela (p 23).