MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

PARLIAMENT OF THE PROVINCE OF THE WESTERN CAPE

THURSDAY, 27 MAY 2021

- 1. The House met at 14:15.
- 2. The Speaker took the Chair and read the prayer.
- 3. [14:16] The Speaker made a general announcement regarding the sitting of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament in accordance with Rule 1A of the Standing Rules pertaining to Members in remote attendance by electronic means.
- 4. [14:19] Interpellations.
- 5. [14:56] Questions.
- 6. [15:55] Questions to the Premier without notice.
- 7. [16:20] Statements by Members.
- 8. [16:45] Response to statements by Members by Mr A T Fritz, Minister of Community Safety.
- 9. [16:48] Motions with Notice (in accordance with Standing Rule 151).
 - The Speaker made an announcement in accordance with the new Standing Rule 151, all Notices of Motion by Members are required to be delivered to the Secretary for placing on the Order Paper. These motions, duly submitted, will be published on the Order Paper.
- 10. [16:49] Motions without Notice (in accordance with Standing Rule 150).
- 11. Ms W F Philander moved without notice: That the House notes that without registration residents may not receive the vital COVID-19 vaccines; affirms that achieving population immunity is best realised through the mass vaccination of residents; congratulates the provincial departments of Health, Social Development, the Premier and Cultural Affairs and Sport for their role in providing guidelines, resources and services to support residents' access to the national registration system; and encourages all qualifying residents, under the various phases of vaccine rollout, to register for their vaccinations.

Agreed to

12. Mr P Marran moved without notice: That the House sends its condolences to the Ceres community and families of Geraldo Wanza, Jaydene Hector, Cedric Fortuin, Keanno Africa and Sue Ann Rauss who tragically lost their lives in a horrific crash involving multiple vehicles on the evening of 8 May 2021. May their souls rest in peace.

Agreed to.

13. Mr A P van der Westhuizen moved without notice: That the House congratulates the City of Cape Town for winning two categories at the 2021 City Nature Challenge; notes that in this competition against 150 cities worldwide, 1 315 residents took part; notes that this allowed the City to make the most observations and record the greatest number of species, 71 142 and 4 766 respectively, in the global challenge; and notes that this win is further proof of the immense biodiversity in the Western Cape and the need to protect it at all costs.

Agreed to.

14. Mr G Brinkhuis moved without notice: That the House acknowledges Mr Mervyn Coetzee of Bonteheuwel who graduated with a PhD in Education: Language and Literacy earlier this month; further acknowledges that Mr Coetzee was raised under very trying circumstances and comes from a poverty-stricken family that many times had nothing to eat; notes that he worked as a casual pool cleaner at the Sea Point Pavilion to earn extra money for the family; further notes that he was a victim of bullying at school due to two thumbs on each hand and was encouraged by his brother to complete his matric; recognises his courage and determination to pursue further studies at the University of the Western Cape where he completed a BA in English and Philosophy; recognises his completion of an honours degree in English and several years later a master's in English Literature; notes that he spent the 1990s at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology, UWC and the University of Cape Town in various capacities as tutor, writing consultant and lecturer, and also taught in the US where he lived for several years; further notes that he spent 18 months in Dublin, Ireland, and initially enrolled for a PhD in Linguistics and later switched to a PhD in Education so he could investigate students' personal narratives; and congratulates Mr Coetzee on his academic achievements.

Agreed to.

15. Ms W F Philander moved without notice: That the House congratulates the Honourable Albert Fritz on his election as the interim provincial leader of the Democratic Alliance in the Western Cape; and wishes him well in his leadership role.

Agreed to.

16. Mr M Kama moved without notice: That the House commends the SAPS for the arrest and apprehension of four of its Harare members suspected of extortion; and calls on justice to take its course.

Agreed to.

17. Mr M Kama moved without notice: That the House commends the SAPS Hawks for swiftly swooping down on people who allegedly abused Ters money meant for poor workers.

Agreed to.

18. Mr C M Dugmore moved without notice: That the House expresses its deep concern that despite the fact that the Head of Provincial Traffic appeared in the Cape Town Magistrate's Court in October 2020 on charges of sexual assault, crimen injuria and attempting to commit a sex act, he remains in his post in the Department of Transport and Public Works; and therefore calls on Minister Daylin Mitchell to suspend him.

Agreed to.

19. Mr P J Marais moved without notice: That the House, in the light of the drastic budget cuts of R20,7 billion over the MTEF period, compounded by the high increase in COVID-19 infections and the expected third wave, resolves to instruct the Western Cape Provincial Treasury and Department of Health to enter into serious discussions with their national counterparts to acquire additional funds to meet the challenges posed by the expected COVID-19 third wave.

Agreed to

20. Mr M K Sayed moved without notice: That the House notes and welcomes the work of the first Western Cape Commissioner of Children, Christina Nomdo, who is striving to ensure children's rights and submitted her first in-depth study on corporal punishment at schools.

Agreed to.

21. Ms R Windvogel moved without notice: That the House notes the season for flooding, all sorts of ailments and fires is upon us; notes the many claims by the DA in the Western Cape that it is ready for this time; and calls on this government to concentrate on the diseases such as TB, diarrhoea and others that plague the poor.

Agreed to.

22. The House adjourned at 17:15.

ROMEO ADAMS Secretary to Provincial Parliament