## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## PARLIAMENT OF THE PROVINCE OF THE WESTERN CAPE

THURSDAY, 22 JUNE 2017

- 1. The House met at 14:15.
- 2. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair and read the prayer.
- 3. [14:16] Interpellations.
- 4. [14:53] Questions.
- 5. [16:09] Statements by Members.
- 6. [16:30] Notices of Motions.
- 7. [16:36] Ms B A Schäfer moved without notice: That the House congratulates Cape Town's Roxanne Lombard, named as one of the 30 "Future Leaders of Destination Marketing" globally. Roxanne is the first honouree on the African continent to receive this prestigious accolade in recognition for her work in tourism in her region.

Agreed to.

8. Mr C M Dugmore moved without notice: That the House notes the passing of anti-apartheid lawyer Lord Joel Joffe who died in London at the age of 85; and conveys condolences with his family.

Agreed to.

9. Mr N E Hinana moved without notice: That the House expresses its deepest condolences with Gwanxu family whose son, City of Cape Town Councillor Xolile, was shot dead on Wednesday 21 June 2017 in Philippi. May his soul rest in peace.

Agreed to.

10. Mr S G Tyatyam moved without notice: That the House commiserates with the family, friends and comrades of the ANC Cape Town Ward 37 Councillor Templeton Mgxenkeni who passed away on 21 June 2017 after a bout of illness.

Agreed to.

11. Ms S W Davids moved without notice: That the House notes, for those who observe Ramadan, the end of the holy month of fasting is coming to a close this weekend; wishes all devout Muslims Eid Mubarak as they celebrate Eid al-Fitr; and calls on all to ensure a peaceful time for families to unite in this tradition.

Agreed to.

12. Ms P Z Lekker moved without notice: That the House notes that the killing of our youth continues unabated across the province, with girls especially being targeted in certain areas; and calls on Community Safety Minister Plato to bring his Department's plan to curb these murders to the Legislature.

Agreed to.

13. [16:47] The Deputy Speaker made a ruling on the remark made by the Hon B D Joseph during the debate on 4 May 2017 and directed him to withdraw the remark.

Whereupon the Member withdrew the remark.

14. [16:50] The Deputy Speaker made a ruling on the remark made by the Hon S G Tyatyam during the debate on 15 June 2017 and directed him to withdraw the remark.

Whereupon the Member withdrew the remark.

15. The House adjourned at 16:50.

Dr G A LAWRENCE Secretary to Provincial Parliament