No 10 - 2018] FIFTH SESSION, FIFTH PARLIAMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

PARLIAMENT OF THE PROVINCE OF THE WESTERN CAPE

THURSDAY, 19 APRIL 2018

- 1. The House met at 14:15.
- 2. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair and read the prayer.
- 3. [14:16] The Chief Whip moved without notice: That, notwithstanding Rule 198, precedence be given to the Subject for discussion.

Agreed to.

4. [14:17] The House discussed the following subject in the name of honourable B A Schäfer:

Land expropriation without compensation.

Debate concluded.

- 5. [15:25] Interpellations
- 6. [15:52] Questions.
- 7. [17:11] Statements by Members.
- 8. [17:32] Draft Resolution.

Ms M M Wenger: That the Rules Committee be tasked with drafting a policy for Members of the House relating to maternity, paternity, adoption and surrogacy leave, and that the Committee report such draft policy to the House for consideration.

Motion agreed to.

9. [17:33] The Chief Whip of the Majority Party moved: That the Standing Committee on the Premier in future be called the Standing Committee on the Premier and Constitutional Matters.

Motion agreed to.

10. [17:34] Notices of Motion.

11. [17:42] Mr T A Simmers moved without notice: That the House congratulates Sydney Michaels, a seven-year-old Grade 2 learner from Pacaltsdorp in George, who was awarded South African colours in chess during the past school holidays.

Agreed to.

12. Ms D Gopie moved without notice: That the House notes with sadness the passing away of Bishop V V Mtini, one of the longest serving ministers of the National Baptist Church of Southern Africa, who was ordained in 1981 at Mbekweni, Paarl, in the Western Cape; notes further that Bishop Mtini was the first chaplain of the ANC in the Western Cape; and conveys sincere condolences to his family, friends and comrades.

Agreed to.

13. Ms T M Dijana moved without notice: That the House notes with sadness that two longstanding members of the Western Cape ANC passed away during the month of April; and conveys condolences to the families of comrades Yengwayo Kutta and Christine Julies.

Agreed to.

14. Mr B D Kivedo moved without notice: That the House congratulates Mr Wayne Naidoo, the senior administrative officer of Security and Facilities Management at the Western Cape Provincial Parliament, on his election as Chairperson of the School Governing Body of Bernardino Heights High School at Kraaifontein; and believes that he will deliver the same high standards in his new position at the school as he does at Parliament.

Agreed to.

15. Mr D Joseph moved without notice: That the House conveys condolences to the Van Lingen family after the passing away of Elza van Lingen, Mayor of the Kouga Municipality in the Eastern Cape; notes further that Elza van Lingen served as leader of the DA in the NCOP from 2009 to 2016 also notes that her contribution, in various positions, to the building of a democratic and accountable state will be sorely missed.

Agreed to.

16. Mr R D Mackenzie moved without notice: That the House congratulates the residents of Mitchells Plain, the British Consul General in Cape Town, Edward Roman, and his team as well as Miss Earth, Irini Moutzouris, for participating in a beach clean-up at Monwabisi beach on Saturday 14 April in preparation for World Clean-up Day on 15 September 2018; and urges residents to continue to work with the government to keep our communities and the environment clean.

Agreed to.

17. Mr B D Kivedo moved without notice: That the House congratulates Mr Anwille Barends, administrative clerk at the Western Cape Provincial Parliament, on his election as Chairperson of the School Governing Body of Norwood Primary School in Mitchells Plain; and conveys the belief that he will deliver the same high standards in his new position as he does at Parliament.

Agreed to.

50

18. Ms T M Dijana moved without notice: That the House notes with concern that collective water consumption in Cape Town remains way above the required daily target of 450 million litres; notes further that the average dam levels across the province continue to drop; and calls on the national government to intervene further to prevent a greater crisis.

Agreed to.

19. Mr M G E Wiley moved without notice: That the House congratulates Fish Hoek Surf Lifesaving Club on winning the overall club championships title at the recent national championships held in Port Elizabeth.

Agreed to.

20. Ms P Z Lekker moved without notice: that this House notes and welcomes the launch of a probe by the Independent Police Investigative Directorate (IPID) after a metropolitan police officer had allegedly shot dead a man and wounded two others at the Mfuleni Police Station on the weekend after the officer was allegedly stabbed; and calls on IPID to speed up its investigation.

Agreed to

21. Mr K E Magaxa moved without notice: That the House notes and commends the University of Cape Town for its decision to rename the New Science Lecture Theatre the the Chris Hani Lecture Theatre in honour of the late ANC stalwart, SACP General Secretary and Umkhoto we Sizwe Chief of Staff, who was assassinated 25 years ago.

Agreed to.

22. Ms D Gopie moved without notice: That the House notes that Rivonia trialist Denis Goldberg turned 85 on 11 April; notes further that for his birthday this year he held a concert to raise funds for the multi-million rand House of Hope centre, which will provide music lessons, teach the performing arts, and teach life and language skills; and congratulates Mr Goldberg and wishes him well in raising funds for this noble cause.

Agreed to.

23. Mr C M Dugmore moved without notice: That the House notes and welcomes the announcement by the Airports Company South Africa (ACSA) that Cape Town International Airport will be renamed; notes further that the renaming process came after Transport Minister Blade Nzimande had directed ACSA to facilitate the process; commends the Minister for providing leadership in this regard; and calls on communities to submit proposals.

Agreed to

24. The House adjourned at 18:00.

Dr G A LAWRENCE Secretary to Provincial Parliament