## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## PARLIAMENT OF THE PROVINCE OF THE WESTERN CAPE

## TUESDAY, 1 DECEMBER 2020

- 1. The House met at 14:15.
- 2. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair and read the prayer.
- 3. [14:19] The Deputy Speaker made a general announcement regarding the sitting of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament in accordance with Rule 1A of the Standing Rules pertaining to Members in remote attendance by electronic means.
- 4. [14:21] The Chief Whip moved: That the appointment by the Rules Committee on 14 June 2019 of Mr R D Mackenzie as the Pension Fund Trustee of the WCPP and of Mr D America as an alternate be confirmed by the House.

Agreed to.

5. [14:22] FIRST ORDER

Consideration of principle of Western Cape Second Adjustments Appropriation Bill [B 7–2020] (Minister of Finance and Economic Opportunities).

Debate concluded.

The Presiding Officer announced that there were currently 36 Hon Members present who were entitled to vote and the House was therefore quorate.

Question put: That the Principle of the Western Cape Second Adjustments Appropriation Bill [B 7–2020] be approved.

AYES – 24: Allen, R I (DA); America, D (DA); Baartman, D M (DA); Bosman, G (DA); Botha, L J (DA); Bredell, A W (DA); Christians, F C (ACDP); Fernandez, S G (DA); Fritz, A T (DA); Herron, B N (GOOD); Mackenzie, R D (DA); Madikizela, B S (DA); Marais, A J (DA); Marais, P J (FF Plus); Maseko, L M (DA); Maynier, D J (DA); Mbombo, N (DA); Meyer, I H (DA); Mitchell, D G (DA); Philander, W F (DA); Schäfer, D A (DA); Simmers, T A (DA); Van der Westhuizen, A P (DA); Wenger, M M (DA).

NOES – 12: Dugmore, C M (ANC); Kama, M (ANC); Lekker, P Z (ANC); Lili, A (ANC); Makamba-Botya, N (EFF); Marran, P (ANC); Mvimbi, L L (ANC); Nkondlo, N D (ANC); Sayed, M K (ANC); Smith, D (ANC); Windvogel, R (ANC); Xego, M (EFF).

Question agreed to.

Principle of Bill approved.

## 6. [16:10] SECOND ORDER

Consideration of Report of the Ad-hoc Committee on COVID-19 on its oversight and public-participation activities undertaken during the period 14 April to 24 November 2020.

Debate concluded.

The Presiding Officer announced that there were currently 35 Hon Members present who were entitled to vote and the House was therefore quorate.

Question put: That the Consideration of Report of the Ad-hoc Committee on COVID-19 be adopted.

Question agreed to (ANC and EFF dissenting).

The Consideration of Report of the Ad-hoc Committee on COVID-19 accordingly adopted.

- AYES 24: Allen, R I (DA); America, D (DA); Baartman, D M (DA); Bosman, G (DA); Botha, L J (DA); Bredell, A W (DA); Christians, F C (ACDP); Fernandez, S G (DA); Fritz, A T (DA); Herron, B N (GOOD); Mackenzie, R D (DA); Madikizela, B S (DA); Marais, A J D (DA), Marais, P J (FF Plus); Maseko, L M (DA); Maynier, D J (DA); Mbombo, N (DA); Meyer, I H (DA); Mitchell, D G (DA); Philander, W F (DA); Schäfer, D A (DA); Simmers, T A (DA); Van der Westhuizen, A P (DA); Wenger, M M (DA).
- NOES 11: Bakubaku-Vos, N G (ANC); Dugmore, C M (ANC); Kama, M (ANC); Lekker, P Z (ANC); Lili, A (ANC); Makamba-Botya, N (EFF); Marran, P (ANC); Nkondlo, N D (ANC); Sayed, M K (ANC); Windvogel, R (ANC); Xego, M (EFF).

Question agreed to.

The Report accordingly adopted.

7. The House adjourned at 17:10.