No 44 - 2018] Fifth Session, Fifth Parliament

PARLIAMENT OF THE PROVINCE OF THE WESTERN CAPE

ANNOUNCEMENTS, TABLINGS AND COMMITTEE REPORTS

WEDNESDAY, 11 JULY 2018

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Speaker:

- 1. Consolidated, updated list of changes in standing committees' membership with effect from 11 July 2018 (* denotes a change):
 - 1. Rules Committee

DA (6)	ANC (2)	EFF (1)	ACDP (1)
Fernandez, S G (C) Pretorius, P J C Wiley, M G E Joseph, D	Uys, P Dyantyi, Q R	Joseph, B D	Christians, F C
Mitchell, D G Hinana, N E			
Alternate Members	Alternate Members		
Schäfer, B A	Davids, S W		
Kivedo, B D	Gillion, M N		

2. Parliamentary Oversight Committee

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (1)	EFF (1)	ACDP
Wiley, M G E Joseph, D Maseko, L M	Uys, P	Joseph, B D	
Alternate Members Hinana, N E Mitchell, D G Schäfer, B A	Alternate Member Dyantyi, Q R		Alternate Member Christians, F C

3. Public Accounts Committee

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (1)	EFF	ACDP (1)
Maseko, L M Joseph, D Mitchell, D G	Tyatyam, S G		Christians, F C (C)
Alternate Members Wenger, M M Wiley, M G E Mnqasela, M	Alternate Member Beerwinkel, C F	Alternate Member Joseph, B D	

4. Standing Committee on Finance (*Provincial Treasury*)

DA (3)	ANC (2)	EFF	ACDP
Joseph, D (C) Mackenzie, R D Simmers, T A	Beerwinkel, C F Uys, P		
Alternate Members Hinana, N E Kivedo, B D Mitchell, D G	Alternate Member Dyantyi, Q R		

5. Budget Committee

Members: 16

DA (12)	ANC (2)	EFF (1)	ACDP (1)
Joseph, D (C)	Beerwinkel, C F	Joseph, B D	Christians, F C
Kivedo, B D	Uys, P		
Botha, L J			
Wenger, M M			
Maseko, L M			
Schäfer, B A			
Mnqasela, M			
Hinana, N E			
Mitchell, D G			
Simmers, T A			
Alternate Member	Alternate Members		
Wiley, M G E	Tyatyam, S G		
	Makeleni, P		

6. Standing Committee on the Premier and Constitutional Matters (*Premier and Constitutional Matters*)*

DA (3)	ANC (2)	EFF	ACDP
Mitchell, D G (C) Mackenzie, R D* Kivedo, B D	Magaxa, K E Dugmore, C M		
Alternate Members Wenger, M M Botha, L J Pretorius, P J C	Alternate Member Gopie, D		

7. Standing Committee on Community Safety (Community Safety)*

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (1)	EFF	ACDP (1)
Wenger, M M (C) Kivedo, B D Mitchell, D G	Lekker, P Z		Christians, F C
Alternate Members Botha, L J Mackenzie, R D* Wiley, M G E	Alternate Member Dijana, T M		

8. Standing Committee on Local Government (Local Government, Local Government Oversight and National Council of Provinces)

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (1)	EFF (1)	ACDP
Mnqasela, M Hinana, N E Simmers, T A	Dyantyi, Q R	Joseph, B D	
Alternate Members Maseko, L M Schäfer, B A	Alternate Member Olivier, R T		

9. Standing Committee on Human Settlements (Human Settlements)

DA (3)	ANC (1)	EFF (1)	ACDP
Maseko, L M (C) Hinana, N E Simmers, T A	Davids, S W	Joseph, B D	
Alternate Members Schäfer, B A Mnqasela, M	Alternate Member Dijana, T M		

10. Standing Committee on Economic Opportunities, Tourism and Agriculture (Economic Development, Tourism and Agriculture)

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (1)	EFF (1)	ACDP
Schäfer, B A (C)	Nkondlo, N D	Joseph, B D	
Economic Opportunities and Tourism Maseko, L M Mnqasela, M	Alternate Member Tyatyam, S G		
Agriculture Maseko, L M Mnqasela, M			
Alternate Members			
Economic Opportunities and Tourism Hinana, N E Simmers, T A			
Agriculture Simmers, T A Hinana, N E			

11. Standing Committee on Education (Education)*

DA (3)	ANC (1)	EFF	ACDP (1)
Kivedo, B D (C) Botha, L J Mackenzie, R D*	Olivier, R T		Christians, F C
Alternate Members Wenger, M M Wiley, M G E Mitchell, D G	Alternate Member Dugmore, C M		

$\textbf{12. Standing Committee on Cultural Affairs and Sport} \ (\textit{Cultural Affairs and Sport})^*$

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (2)	EFF	ACDP
Mackenzie, R D* Kivedo, B D Wenger, M M	Gopie, D Olivier, R T		
Alternate Members Botha, L J Pretorius, P J C Mitchell, D G	Alternate Members Dugmore, C M Makeleni, P		

13. Standing Committee on Community Development (Health and Social Development)*

DA (3)	ANC (2)	EFF	ACDP
Botha, L J (C)	Gillion, M N		
Wenger, M M	Makeleni, P		
Mitchell, D G			
Alternate Members	Alternate Members		
Kivedo, B D	Lekker, P Z		
	Gopie, D		
Health			
Pretorius, P J C			
Mackenzie, R D*			
·			
Social Development			
Wiley, M G E			
Mackenzie, R D*			

14. Standing Committee on Environmental Affairs and Development Planning (Environmental Affairs and Development Planning)

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (2)	EFF	ACDP
Simmers, T A (C) Schäfer, B A Hinana, N E	Dijana, T M Beerwinkel, C F		
Alternate Members Mnqasela, M Maseko, L M	Alternate Member Olivier, R T		

15. Standing Committee on Transport and Public Works (Transport and Public Works)*

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (2)	EFF	ACDP
Hinana, N E (C) Schäfer, B A* Mnqasela, M	Dugmore, C M Nkondlo, N D		
Alternate Members Maseko, L M Simmers, T A	Alternate Member Lekker, P Z		

16. Petitions Committee*

DA (3)	ANC (2)	EFF	ACDP
Mitchell, D G*	Gillion, M N		
Hinana, N E	Davids, S W		
Kivedo, B D			
Alternate Members	Alternate Member		
Joseph, D	Magaxa, K E		
Wenger, M M			
Mnqasela, M			

17. Conduct Committee

Members: 5

DA (3)	ANC (2)	EFF	ACDP
Wenger, M M (C) Wiley, M G E Botha, L J	Uys, P Dyantyi, Q R		
Alternate Members Hinana, N E Simmers, T A	Alternate Member Magaxa, K E		

18. Chairpersons' Forum

DA (14)	ANC	EFF	ACDP (1)
Pretorius, P J C (C)			Christians, F C
Joseph, D			
Kivedo, B D			
Botha, L J			
Wenger, M M			
Maseko, L M			
Schäfer, B A			
Mnqasela, M			
Hinana, N E			
Mitchell, D G			
Wiley, M G E			
Simmers, T A			

The Speaker:

2. Report of Public Protector:

In a report by the Public Protector, dated 11 June 2018, and titled *Report on investigation into allegations of breach of the provisions of the Executive Ethics Code by the Premier of the Western Cape Provincial Government, Honourable Helen Zille,* the Public Protector directed that the following remedial action be taken:

The Speaker of the Western Cape Provincial Legislature (Speaker) must, within 30 working days from the date of the report, table it before the Western Cape Provincial Legislature for it to take appropriate action to hold the Premier accountable as contemplated in sections 114(2), 133(2) & 3(a) and 136(1) & 2(b) of the Constitution.

The last date for tabling of the Public Protector's report, based on the period of 30 working days referred to in that report, is 23 July 2018.

On Wednesday 4 July 2018 the Speaker and the Western Cape Provincial Parliament were served with court papers wherein the Premier seeks to interdict the Speaker and the Western Cape Provincial Parliament from implementing the remedial action in the Public Protector's report. The Premier's application for an interdict will be heard in the Gauteng Provincial Division of the High Court on 17 July 2018. The Western Cape Provincial Parliament will not oppose the application.

Unless the Speaker is served with a court order directing otherwise, the Speaker will table the Public Protector's report on 23 July 2018.