PARLIAMENT OF THE PROVINCE OF THE WESTERN CAPE

ANNOUNCEMENTS, TABLINGS AND COMMITTEE REPORTS

FRIDAY, 3 JUNE 2022

ANNOUNCEMENT

The Speaker:

Establishment of an ad-hoc committee by the Speaker in accordance with Standing Rule 119(1)(b) with the following assignment:

To determine:

- (a) the appropriateness of the number of seats allocated to the Western Cape Provincial Parliament more than 20 years ago, given the population growth and the movement of people across provinces; and
- (b) whether the current number of seats is sufficient to represent the people of the Western Cape optimally.

The Committee shall consist of 15 Members appointed in accordance with Rule 120 of the Standing Rules with the membership allocated as follows:

- Democratic Alliance: Eight (8) Members: Honourable DM Baartman, Honourable LM Maseko, Honourable RD Mackenzie, Honourable WF Kaizer-Philander, Honourable D America, Honourable AP van der Westhuizen, Honourable G Bosman, Honourable D Plato. <u>Alternate:</u> Honourable LJ Botha.
- African National Congress: Two (2) Members: Honourable PZ Lekker, Honourable MK Sayed. <u>Alternates:</u> Honourable P Marran, Honourable AP Bans.
- Economic Freedom Fighters: One (1) Member: Honourable N Makamba-Botya.
- GOOD: One (1) Member: Honourable SN August.
- African Christian Democratic Party: One (1) Member: Honourable FC Christians.
- Freedom Front Plus: One (1) Member: Honourable PJ Marais.
- Al Jama-ah: One (1) Member: Honourable K Brinkhuis.