

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS BUDGET COMMITTEE Tuesday, 04 June 2019 (11h40), Committee Room 2, fourth floor, Cape Town

PRESENT

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Baartman, D Mackenzie, RD Philander, WF

African National Congress

Mvimbi, L

Alternate Members

Allen, RI (DA) Bosman, G (DA) Botha, LJ (DA) Mitchell, DG (DA)

Additional Members

Makamba-Botya, N (EFF) Lekker, P (ANC)

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Achmat, W – Procedural Officer Cloete, L – Senior Procedural Officer

1. Welcome

The Procedural Officer, opened the meeting, and stated that the purpose of the meeting was to elect a Chairperson for the Budget Committee.

2. Election of the Chairperson

The Committee proceeded to the election of the Chairperson in terms of Standing Rule 82(1), which states that:

"A committee must elect a chairperson from its membership".

Member W Philander moved that Member D Baartman be elected as the Chairperson. Member R Allen seconded. There were no further nominations.

Agreed to.

Member D Baartman accepted the nomination as the Chairperson of the Budget Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 10h52.

MS D BAARTMAN, MPP

MS D BAARTMAN, MPP CHAIRPERSON: BUDGET COMMITTEE DATE: 2 AUGUST 2019