

## Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS Wednesday, 16 May 2018 (08:30), I-CAN Centre, Elsies River

### STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITIES, TOURISM AND AGRICULTURE

(Economic Development and Tourism; Agriculture)

#### **ATTENDANCE**

#### Members:

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Maseko, M Mnqasela, M Schäfer, BA (Chairperson)

## **African National Congress**

Nkondlo, N Tyatyam, S (Alternate)

## The following persons were in attendance:

## **Department of Economic Development and Tourism**

Ms J Johnston, Acting Head of Department Mr R Toefy, Deputy Director-General Ms O Dyers, Director Ms L Maqashu, Assistant Director Mr R Davids, Deputy Director

## **Cape Innovation and Technology Initiative**

Ms S Mohideen, Head of Skills

### **Western Cape Provincial Parliament**

Ms Z Adams, Committee Coordinator Ms A Mtimkulu, Researcher

#### 1. Guided tour of the I-CAN Centre

The Committee received a tour of the I-CAN Centre in Elsies River from the Centre Manager, Mr Scholtz. The Committee then proceeded with the presentations for the day.

#### 2. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed everyone present.

3. Briefing by the Department of Economic Development and Tourism on the Digital Economy and the I-CAN Centre Proof-of-Concept

Mr Davids briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee then proceeded to the next presentation.

4. Briefing by the Centre Manager on the I-CAN Centre

Mr Scholz briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee then proceeded to the next presentation.

5. Briefing by Cape Innovation Technology Institute on Opportunities for Youth in the Western Cape, focusing on the CaPaCITI and Job Readiness Programmes

Ms Mohideen briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee engaged on the contents of all the presentations.

Having concluded its business for the day, the meeting adjourned at 12h30.

-----

MS BA SCHÄFER, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITIES, TOURISM AND

**AGRICULTURE** 

DATE: