

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/6/12

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM

Wednesday 4 June 2025 (at 11:00), Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Bosman, G (Additional member) Bryant, DW Masipa, NP (Chairperson) Mbombo, N Wessels, DJ

African National Congress Nkondlo, ND Stoffels, BN (Additional member)

Patriotic Alliance

Constable, N

Al Jama-ah Brinkhuis, G

Apologies

Dr I Meyer, Minister of Agriculture, Economic Development and Tourism Ms J Johnston, Head of Department of Economic Development and Tourism

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Economic Development and Tourism

Mr R Toefy, Acting Head of Department Ms M Abrahams, Chief Financial Officer Ms I van Schalkwyk, Chief Director - Economic Sector Support Mr N Joseph, Chief Director - Skills Development Mr T Parle, Chief Director - Digital Economy Mr John Peters, Chief Director - Economic Enablement Mr H Jonker, Director - Industrial Coordination Ms O Dyers, Director - Digital Leadership Mr J Wolmarans, Director - Enterprise Development Ms M Ellis, Director - Red Tape Reduction Ms C Julies, Director - Strategic and Operational Support Ms M Parker, Director - Provincial Skills Partnership Ms Rahima Loghdey, Director - Skills Incentives Ms F Dharsey, Director - Municipal Economic Support Mr G Dingaan, Director - Agri-Processing Sector Mr T Chipeya, Director - Research Mr J Stoltz, Director - Research Mr J Stoltz, Director - Tourism Ms C van Niekerk, Acting Director - Skills Programmes and Projects Mr F Abrahams, Acting Director - Cape Catalyst Mr R Le Bron, Deputy Director - Management Accounting Ms Priyanka Moodley, Assistant Director - Management Accounting Ms C Titus, Assistant Director – Office of the Head of Department

Western Cape Destination Marketing, Investment and Trade Promotion Agency (WESGRO)

Dr S Zinn, Board Chairperson Ms W Stander, Chief Executive Officer Ms G Darries, Chief of Staff Mr S Gcwabe, Chief Financial Officer Mr S Ndwandwa, Audit and Risk Chairperson

Freeport Saldanha Industrial Development Zone (FSIDZ)

Mr X Sithole, Acting Chief Executive Officer Mr H Boneschan, Chief Financial Officer Mr S Marthinus, Legal Adviser Mr C Joseph, Executive – Stakeholder Management

Atlantis Special Economic Zone (ASEZ)

Mr M Cullinan, Chief Executive Officer Ms W Saib, Chief Financial Officer Ms F Brand, Company Secretary Ms O Mpahlwa, Financial Accountant

WCPP Officials

Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Ms C Morris, Information Technology Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Acting Head of Department, the Chairperson of the Wesgro Board, Chief Executive Officers of WESGRO, SBIDZ and ASEZ, departmental officials, and those who were watching the live proceedings on YouTube.

The Chairperson informed all present that the The Western Cape Appropriation Bill was re-tabled on 3 June 2025 for referral to and consideration by the various standing committees.

2. Deliberation on Vote 12: Economic Development and Tourism in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 4–2025]

The Department briefed the Committee on Vote 12 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 4–2025], and indicated that the detailed information presented during the earlier briefing on 1 April 2025 remained valid and unchanged.

The Committee deliberated after which it agreed to support the Vote. The African National Congress and Al Jama-ah did not support the Vote.

3. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Report on Vote 12: Economic Development and Tourism in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 4–2025]

Upon conclusion of its deliberations the Chairperson submitted a Draft Report. The African National Congress and Al Jama-ah requested that their minority view be included in the Report, after which the Report was considered and adopted.

4. **Resolutions/Actions**

- 4.1 The Committee REQUESTED that Freeport Saldanha Industrial Development Zone provides it by 30 June 2025 with a report outlining the finalisation and content of the Sustainable Strategy for the Skills Centre; and the current operational status of the Skills Centre, including whether training is presently taking place and whether learners are currently enrolled or engaged in activities at the centre.
- 4.2 The Committee REQUESTED that the Department of Economic Development and Tourism provides it with a report on the progress of the impact assessment of the Small, Medium and Micro Enterprises (SMME) Booster Fund which is currently underway. The Committee further requests that the final report of the impact assessment be submitted to the Committee upon its completion.

4. Closing

The Chairperson expressed his appreciation to the members, the Acting Head of Department, and officials for their contribution to the success of the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 11:22.

MR NP MASIPA, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM

Date: 18 June 2025