

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

Monday, 31 March 2025 (14h00), Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Mbombo, N (Chairperson) Bryant, D Johnson, P Masipa, N

African National Congress

Ngqentsu, B

Patriotic Alliance

Constable, N

GOOD

Herron, B

Additional Member

Lekker, P (ANC)

The following persons were in attendance:

*Attendance register copied below

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms S Jones, Procedural Officer
Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer

1. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and allowed brief introductions by the Minister and the Acting Head of Department. Member Herron submitted an apology, indicating that he would need to depart the meeting early.

Consideration of Vote 8: Western Cape Mobility Department in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2-2025]

The Minister and Acting Head of Department gave introductory remarks on the budget for Vote 8: Western Cape Mobility Department. The Committee proceeded to a discussion on the Vote.

The Committee deliberated and engaged the Department on Vote 8. The Chairperson thanked the Department's officials and the Minister for the preparation and responses to the questions raised by the Committee Members.

The Chairperson noted that there were no questions or comments raised by members of the public.

The Committee proceeded to express their views on the Vote.

3. Consideration and adoption of the draft Committee Report on Vote 8: Western Cape Mobility in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2–2025]

The Chairperson submitted the draft Committee Report, which was considered and adopted.

In accordance with Standing Rule 90, the African National Congress (ANC) expressed its Minority View to not support the Vote.

4. Resolutions/Actions

- 4.1 The Committee REQUESTED that the Western Cape Mobility Department provide it with a comprehensive report on the Electronic Minibus Taxi pilot project, specifically addressing (i) the collaboration between Stellenbosch University and Rham Equipment in developing the electric minibus taxi, and (ii) the Department's strategy to promote the adoption/uptake of electronic vehicles within the Western Cape's informal transport sector, specifically, the minibus industry.
- 4.2 The Committee RESOLVED the following:
- 4.2.1 To request a briefing from the Western Cape Mobility Department on the Western Cape Freight Strategy and Western Cape Freight Demand Model, developed in collaboration with CASIDRA and the City of Cape Town; and

4.2.2 To request a briefing from the City of Cape Town on the proposed plan/strategy for the devolution of rail to provinces, and the corresponding national policy addressing this matter.

The meeting adjourned at 16:36.

PROF N MBOMBO, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

DATE:

Attendance:

Title	Name	Designation	Organization
Mr.	Isaac Sileku	MEC	WCMD
Mr.	Darryl Jacobs	Head of Department	WCMD
Mr.	Antonie Janse Van Rensbug	Acting CD: GMT	WCMD
Mr.	Mario Erasmus	Deputy Director	WCMD

Mr.	Randall Barreiro	Director: Transport	WCMD
		Administration &	
		Licensing	
Mr.	Riaan <u>Wiggil</u>	Acting CD:	WCMD
		Management Support	
		Services (Acting	
		CFO)	
Ms.	Deidre Ribbonaar	Chief Director:	WCMD
		Transport Operations	
Mr.	Recardo Collins	Director: Land	WCMD
		Transport Contracts	
Ms.	Christiaan Kriegler	Deputy Director	WCMD
Mr.	Mario Brown	Director: Policies,	WCMD
		Research & Systems	
Mr.	Brian Ngcebetsha	Deputy Director	WCMD
Ms.	Bianca Hendricks	Deputy Director: GMT	WCMD
		Fleet Finance	
Mr.	Bernie MacMahon	Acting CD: Mobility	WCMD
		Regulation	
Mr.	Melvin Arendse	Director: Land	WCMD
		Transport Safety	
		Project Office	
Mr.	Mzoxolo Pantshwa		Dept of Mobility
Ms.	Nina September	Deputy Director	Dept of Mobility

Mr.	Willie van der Merwe	Acting CD: Traffic	WCMD
		Management	
Ms.	Pakama Mndita	Deputy Director	WCMD
Mr.	Donald Lakey	Director: Traffic	WCMD
		Training &	
		Development	
Mr.	Jacobs Smit		WCMD
Mr.	Kenneth Booysen	Director: Strategic &	WCMD
		Operational	
		Management Support	
Mr.	Mxolisi Joja		WCMD
	+		