

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY Friday, 7 February 2025 (14:00) Virtual via MS Teams

PRESENT

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Booysen, M (Alternate) Bryant, D Johnson, P Mbombo, N (Chairperson)

African National Congress

Ngqentsu, B

GOOD

Herron, B

Patriotic Alliance

Constable, N

Apology

Masipa, N (DA)

The following persons were in attendance:

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms Z Adams, Procedural Officer Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

Western Cape Mobility Department

*The attendance list has been included below

1. Welcome and Attendance

The Chairperson welcomed the Members and officials from the Western Cape Mobility Department (the Department) to the meeting. The Chairperson noted the Minister of Mobility's apology, indicating that he was supposed to brief the Committee on his mobility-related priorities; however, he could not attend due to a bereavement. The Chairperson noted that the Department would continue with its briefing on its proposed plan and expenditure for the R25,2 million allocated to the Department in respect of provincial funding.

2. Briefing by the Western Cape Mobility Department

The Department briefed the Committee on the proposed plan and expenditure for the R25,2 million allocated to it in respect of provincial funding.

Upon conclusion of the presentation, the Members were afforded the opportunity to ask questions related to the briefing.

3. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee RESOLVED to request a briefing from the Passenger Rail Agency of South Africa on its service level plan for the Western Cape, and its commitments to improve services in respect of Metrorail operations.

The meeting adjourned at 14:30.

mbarba

PROF N MBOMBO, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY DATE: 21 February 2025

Attendance:

Title	Name	Designation	Organizatio
			n
Ms.	Lorinda Theron	Deputy Director	WCMD
Mr	Darryl Jacons	Head of Department	WCMD
Mr.	Fezile Mbambo	Director	WCMD
Mr.	Antonie Janse Van Rensbug	Director	WCMD
Ms.	Bianca Hendricks	Deputy Director: GMT	WCMD
Title	Name	Designation	Organizatio
			n
Ms.	Melvin Arendse	Director	WCMD
Ms.	Natascha Visser	Researcher	WCPP
Ms.	Muneera Allie	Deputy Director: Strategic &	WCMD
		Operational Management Support	
Mr.	Recardo Collins	Director	WCMD
Mr.	Reneal Davids	Director	WCMD
Mr.	Mario Brown	Director	WCMD