

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

Thursday, 28 November 2024 (11h30), Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Mbombo, N (Chairperson) Bosman, G (Alternate) Johnson, P Masipa, N

African National Congress

Ngqentsu, B

Patriotic Alliance

Constable, N

GOOD

Herron, B

Apology

Bryant, D (DA)

Additional Members

Petrus, B (PA)(Alternate)
Windvogel, R (ANC)(Alternate)

The following persons were in attendance:

^{*}Attendance register copied below

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms Z Adams, Procedural Officer
Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer
Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

1. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and allowed brief introductions by the Minister and the Acting Head of Department. The Chairperson noted that Member G Bosman (DA) would be standing in for Member D Bryant (DA), who had submitted an apology and could not attend the meeting.

2. Consideration of Vote 8: Mobility in the Schedule to the Western Cape Adjustments Appropriation Bill [B 2-2024]

The Minister and Head of Department gave introductory remarks on budgetary adjustments to Vote 8: Mobility. The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Vote 8, in the Adjusted Estimates of Provincial Expenditure book.

The Committee deliberated and engaged the Department on Vote 8. The Chairperson thanked the Department's officials and the Minister for the preparation and responses to the questions raised by the Committee Members.

The Chairperson noted that there were no questions or comments raised by members of the public.

The Committee proceeded to express their views on the Vote.

3. Consideration and adoption of the draft Committee Report on Vote 8: Mobility in the Schedule to the Western Cape Adjustments Appropriation Bill [B 2–2024]

The Chairperson submitted the draft Committee Report, which was considered and adopted.

In accordance with Standing Rule 90, the African National Congress (ANC) and the Patriotic Alliance (PA) expressed their Minority View to not support the Vote.

Members Ngqentsu indicated that the time allocated to the deliberations on the Votes was insufficient, and it did not allow Members to thoroughly interrogate the Vote and engage with the Department; therefore, the ANC could not support Vote 8. Member Constable also indicated that the PA could not support Vote 8 because he did not believe that they were doing justice to the money spent within the Department. Member Constable noted that the Minister had indicated that the recruitment of staff within the Department was not being compromised; however, the Department seemed to be relying on the use of "outsiders" and service providers to do the work. There seemed to be an issue with recruitment since the 2023/24 financial year, and the issue was raised in the Annual Report deliberations as well.

The Chairperson noted, and agreed, that the time allocated to the deliberations on the budget adjustments was insufficient and indicated that this should be considered for future budget adjustment engagements.

The meeting adjourned at 12:42.

mbarba

PROF N MBOMBO, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

DATE: 21 February 2025

Attendance:

Title	Name	Designation	Organization
Mr.	Isaac Sileku	MEC	Mobility
Ms.	Bianca Hendricks	Deputy Director: GMT	Mobility
Mr.	Abdoesalaam Isaacs	Registrar	Mobility
Ms.	Deidre Ribbonaar	CD: Operation	Mobility
Mr	Gamza Martins	CD: GMT	Mobility
Title	Name	Designation	Organization
Ms.	Kamiela Jones-Pienaar		Mobility
Mr.	Nadeem Hendricks		Mobility
Mr.	Manda McKenzie		Mobility
Mr.	Melvin Arendse		Mobility
Mr.	Riaan Wiggill	CFO	Mobility
Mr.	Kashief Jones	DD: Finance	Mobility
Mr.	Mxolisi Joja		Mobility

Godfrey Reed	CD: Regulations	Mobility
		Withouthly
Kevin van Rensburg		Mobility
Ricardo Collins		Mobility
Daryl Jacobs		Mobility
Name	Designation	Organization
Vuyolwethu Njalo	Head of Ministry	Mobility
Reneal Davids	Acting Director:	Mobility
	Finance	
Kurt Hendricks	DD: Stakeholders	Mobility
Farrel Payne	Director	Mobility
	Ricardo Collins Daryl Jacobs Name Vuyolwethu Njalo Reneal Davids Kurt Hendricks	Ricardo Collins Daryl Jacobs Name Designation Vuyolwethu Njalo Head of Ministry Reneal Davids Acting Director: Finance Kurt Hendricks DD: Stakeholders