

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/6/8

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Monday, 14 October 2024 (at 08:00), Chamber, 6th Floor, Legislature Building

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Bryant, D W (Chairperson)
Johnson, P
Wessels, D J
Van Minnen, B M (Alternate)

African National Congress

Stoffel, BN

Apologies

Constable, N (PA) Masipa, N P (DA) Marais, G P (FFP)

Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr A Bredell, Minister for Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr G Gerber, Head of Department

Mr A Gaffoor, Director: Strategic and Operational Support (acting CD Management Support)

Mr J Fritz, Director Finance / Chief Financial Officer

Mr A Mohamed, Chief Director: Environmental Governance, Policy Coordination and Enforcement

Mr P Hardcastle, Director: Planning and Policy Coordination Mr A Bassier, Director: Environmental Law Enforcement Ms J Keet, Acting Director: Environmental Governance Ms K Shippey, Chief Director: Environmental Sustainability

Mr R Mukanya, Director: Sustainability Mr G Isaacs, Director: Climate Change Ms M Laros, Director: Biodiversity and Coastal Management

Mr G Arendse, Chief Director: Environmental Quality

Dr J Leaner, Director: Air Quality

Mr S Haider, Director: Waste Management

Ms N Davis Wolmarans, Director: Pollution and Chemicals Management

Mr F Mabusela, Chief Director: Development Planning Mr Z Toefy, Director Development Management Region 1 Mr K Munro, Director Development Management Region 2

Ms T Jordan, Director Development Facilitation

Ms H Jacobs, Director: Development Planning, Intelligence Management and Research

CapeNature

Prof D Hendricks – outgoing Chairperson of the CapeNature Board

Ms K Loubser - Chairperson of the CapeNature Board

Dr A Naidoo – Chief Executive Officer Mr M Bhayat – Chief Financial Officer

Ms C Birss - Executive Director: Biodiversity Capabilities

Mr M Jacobs – Acting Executive Director: Conservation Operations

Mr S Ismail – Executive Director: Eco-Tourism and Access

Mr B Barnes – General Manager: Strategy, Governance and Risk

Mr E Hardy - Team Leader: Risk and Performance

The following person was in attendance:

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Ms C Morris, ICT Support Mr S Hassan, ICT Support

1. Opening and Welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Head of Department, CapeNature and the Departmental officials.

2. Deliberation on the Annual Report of the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning for the 2023/24 financial year

The Minister and Head of Department provided a brief overview of the Annual Report of the Department, focussing on the highlights and challenges during the 2023/24 financial year. The Department received an unqualified audit opinion and successfully achieved over 90% of their planned targets.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Part A: General Information, Part B: Performance Information and Part D: Human Resource Management of the Annual Report.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Deliberation on the Annual Report of CapeNature for the 2023/24 financial year

Minister Bredell, Dr Naidoo and Prof D Hendricks, outgoing Chairperson of the CapeNature Board provided a brief overview of the Annual Report of the Department, focusing on the highlights and challenges during the 2023/24 financial year.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Part A: General Information, Part B: Performance Information and Part D: Human Resource Management of the Annual Report.

The Committee deliberated.

4. Resolutions

The Committee RESOLVED:

- 4.1 That the Department and CapeNature consider increasing their collaboration with the Expanded Public Works Programme to create job opportunities and alleviate poverty, particularly in rural and remote areas of the Western Cape; and
- 4.2 That the Procedural Officer gather information on whether a briefing was conducted on the Environmental Commissioner and to provide an update on the status.

5. Acknowledgement

The Committee commended the Department for their performance during the 2023/24 financial year. The Department received an unqualified audit opinion and successfully achieved over 90% of their planned targets.

The Chairperson thanked the Members of the Committee, the Minister, the Head of Department and all the officials of the Department for their preparation and responses to the questions raised by the Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 09:15.

MR D BRYANT, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND

DEVELOPMENT PLANNING