

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/6/13

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Friday, 11 October 2024 (at 08:00), Chamber, 6th Floor, Legislature Building

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Bryant, D W (Chairperson) Masipa, N P Johnson, P Wessels, D J

African National Congress

Stoffel, BN

Patriotic Alliance

Constable, N

Freedom Front Plus

Marais, GP

Additional

Windvogel, R (ANC)

Department of Local Government

Mr A Bredell, Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr G Paulse, Head of Department

Mr A Dlwengu, Director: Policy and Strategic Support

Ms B Sewlall-Singh, Chief Financial Officer

Dr S Greyling: Chief Director: Municipal Performance, Monitoring and Support

Mr K Makan: Director: Municipal Governance

Adv G Birch: Director: Specialised Support

Mr V Ackeer, Acting Director: Municipal Infrastructure

Mr G Brown, Acting Director: District and Local Performance Monitoring Ms Zanele Mtyoko, Acting Director: Municipal Support and Capacity Building

Ms N Zamxaka, Chief Director: Integrated Service Delivery

Mr H Magerman, Director: Community Development Worker Programme

Ms A Robinson, Acting Director: Service Delivery Integration

Mr S Phendu, Acting Director: Public Participation

Ms J Stephens, Public Participation

Ms N Du Plessis, Deputy Director: Integrated Development Planning Mr I McKenzie, Deputy Director: Integrated Development Planning

Mr C Deiner, Chief Director: Disaster Management and Fire Rescue Services

Ms L Nicholson, Acting Director: Disaster Operations

Mrs K Adams, CRU Local GovernmentDeputy Director: Disaster Recovery

Ms D van Zyl, Deputy Director

Ms M O'Mdley, Assistant DirectorMr F Matthee: Head: Corporate Relations Unit

Ms R van Wyk, Head: Communications

Department of the Premier

Ms L Esterhuyse, Chief Director

Mr S Goldschmidt, Director: Employment Resources Ms L Baun, Assistant Director: Departmental Analyst Mr W Wilson, Deputy Director: People Analyst Ms K Scholtz, Director Policy and Planning

The following person was in attendance:

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Ms C Morris, ICT Support Mr S Hassan, ICT Support

1. Opening and Welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Head of Department and the Departmental officials.

2. Deliberation on the Annual Report of the Department of Local Government for the 2023/24 financial year

The Minister and Head of Department provided a brief overview of the Annual Report of the Department, focussing on the highlights and challenges during the 2023/24 financial year. The Department received an unqualified audit opinion with no findings for the tenth consecutive year.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Part A: General Information, Part B: Performance Information and Part D: Human Resource Management of the Annual Report.

The Committee deliberated.

3.Resolutions

The Committee RESOLVED to:

- 3.1 Invite the City of Cape Town to brief the Committee on the measures they have implemented to ensure that the water supplied to households is safe and of high quality as well as how they ensure that the water quality along the coastline, Milnerton Lagoon, and the Diep River meets national standards.; and
- 3.2 Request the Department to brief the Committee on their strategy to address the issue of aging infrastructure in municipalities, with a particular focus on the risks in the energy sector and water management, and the measures to mitigate these risks effectively.

4. Information requested

The Committee REQUESTED that the Department provides the Committee with:

- 4.1 The number per year of all sexual harassment cases and grievances in the Department since 2016 and whether they have been resolved;
- 4.2 A copy of the strategy to curb vandalism at municipalities and information on the Rapid response teams;
- 4.3 A list of the projects that were implemented through the Joint District and Metro Approach and the municipalities that benefitted;
- 4.4 A list of the municipalities that were provided with technical and administrative support on all ICT and GIS-related programmes;
- 4.5 A list of all vacancies including critical posts from 1 April 2023 to 31 October 2024 highlighting when the vacancy occurred, when the vacancy was filled and how long the post was vacant; and
- 4.6 Detailed reasons for the funds unspent by the Entity in respect of conditional grants and earmarked funds received as reflected in the cases on pages 71, 72 and 73.

5. Acknowledgement

The Committee expressed concern over the challenges in retaining and recruiting staff due to salary scales, recognizing the risk this poses to service delivery. The Committee encourages the Department to make representations at MINMEC to address this issue.

The Committee congratulated the Department on their performance for the 2023/24 financial year, wherein they achieved 97% of their planned indicators. The Committee further highlighted that it took note that the Department achieved its eleventh consecutive unqualified audit opinion without findings.

The Chairperson thanked the Members of the Committee, the Minister, the Head of Department and all the officials of the Department for their preparation and responses to the questions raised by the Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 12:33.

MR D BRYANT, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND

DEVELOPMENT PLANNING