

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/6/8

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND **DEVELOPMENT PLANNING**

Tuesday, 27 August 2024 (at 09:00), Chamber, 6th Floor, Legislature Building

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Bryant, DW (Chairperson) Masipa, N P Johnson, P Wessels, D J

African National Congress

Stoffel, B N

Patriotic Alliance

Constable, N

Freedom Front Plus

Marais, G P

Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr A Bredell, Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning Mr G Gerber, Head of Department Mr A Gaffoor, Director: Strategic and Operational Support (acting CD Management Support) Mr J Fritz, Director Finance / Chief Financial Officer Mr A Mohamed, Chief Director: Environmental Governance, Policy Coordination and Enforcement Mr P Hardcastle, Director: Planning and Policy Coordination Mr A Bassier, Director: Environmental Law Enforcement Ms J Keet, Acting Director: Environmental Governance Ms K Shippey, Chief Director: Environmental Sustainability Mr R Mukanya, Director: Sustainability Mr G Isaacs, Director: Climate Change Ms M Laros, Director: Biodiversity and Coastal Management Mr G Arendse, Chief Director: Environmental Quality

Dr J Leaner, Director: Air Quality Mr S Haider, Director: Waste Management Ms N Davis Wolmarans, Director: Pollution and Chemicals Management Mr F Mabusela, Chief Director: Development Planning Mr Z Toefy, Director Development Management Region 1 Mr K Munro, Director Development Management Region 2 Ms T Jordan, Director Development Facilitation Ms H Jacobs, Director: Development Planning, Intelligence Management and Research

CapeNature

Dr A Naidoo, Chief Executive Officer Mr M Bhayat, Chief Financial Officer Ms N Hayward, Executive Director: Conservation Operations Ms C Birss, Executive Director: Biodiversity Capabilities Mr S Ismail, Executive Director: Eco-Tourism and Access Mr B Barnes, General Manager: Strategy, Governance and Risk

The following persons were in attendance:

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Ms C Morris, ICT Support Mr S Hassan, ICT Support

1. Opening and Welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Head of Department, the Departmental officials and CapeNature.

2. Briefing by the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

The Minister made opening remarks after which Mr Gerber briefed the Committee on the Department's 2024/25 Annual Performance Plan, organisational structure, mission, vision, core functions, key programmes and envisaged legislation.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Briefing by CapeNature

Dr Naidoo briefed the Committee on CapeNature's 2024/25 Annual Performance Plan, organisational structure, mission, vision, core functions, and programmes.

The Committee deliberated.

4. Resolutions

The Committee RESOLVED that it would:

- 4.1 Communicate with the Standing Committee on Agriculture, Economic Development and Tourism, requesting that, as lead committee, it considers organising a joint meeting with the Standing Committee on Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning to receive a briefing from the Department of Agriculture on land reform matters to ensure that land is made available to poorer communities for farming;
- 4.2 Request the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning to brief the Committee on the integration of legislation and law reform, assessing whether these efforts will lead to stronger laws to protect the environment against the illegal occupation of land; and
- 4.3 Request the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning to brief the Committee on their role in environmental education and the extent of their collaboration with other stakeholders.

5. Adoption of Minutes

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 6 August 2024, which were considered.

Mr Masipa moved: That the Draft Committee Minutes be adopted.

Mr Marais seconded the motion to adopt the Minutes.

Agreed to.

The meeting adjourned at 12:31.

MR D BRYANT, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING