

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/6/13

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Tuesday, 6 August 2024 (at 09:00), Chamber, 6th Floor, Legislature Building

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Bryant, D W (Chairperson) Masipa, N P Walters, T C R (Alternate) Wessels, D J

African National Congress

Stoffel, B N

Patriotic Alliance

Constable, N

Freedom Front Plus

Marais, GP

Economic Freedom Fighters

Lithakong, T

Apology

Johnson, P (DA)

Department of Local Government

Mr G Paulse, Head of Department

Ms B Sewlall-Singh, Chief Financial Officer

Ms N Zamxaka, Chief Director: Integrated Service Delivery

Mr C Deiner, Chief Director: Disaster Management and Fire Services

Mr A Dlwengu, Director: Policy and Strategic Support

Mr K Makan: Director Municipal Governance

Adv G Birch, Director: Specialised Support Mr M Brand, Director: Municipal Infrastructure

Dr S Greyling, Director: Municipal Support and Capacity Building

Ms A Jacobs, Deputy Director, Management Accounting

Mr Nabeel Rylands

Ms Jo-Anne Naidoo, Acting Director: Municipal Support & Capacity Building

The following person was in attendance:

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Ms C Morris, ICT Support Mr S Hassan, ICT Support

1. Opening and Welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Head of Department and the Departmental officials.

2. Briefing by the Department of Local Government

The Minister made opening remarks and highlighted that the Department and all municipalities are under severe financial pressure and that they need to do better planning to provide adequate services to the people of the Western Cape.

Mr Paulse briefed the Committee on the Department's 2024/25 Annual Performance Plan, organisational structure, mission, vision, core functions, key programmes and envisaged legislation.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Adoption of Minutes

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 5 July 2024, which were considered.

Mr Constable moved: That the Draft Committee Minutes be adopted.

Mr Walters seconded the motion to adopt the Minutes.

Agreed to.

The meeting adjourned at 11:00.

MR D BRYANT, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING