

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/4/22

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

Wednesday, 13 March 2024 (at 14:00), Committee Room 2, 4th floor, Legislature Building, Cape Town

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D (Chairperson) Sileku, I Van der Westhuizen, AP

African National Congress

Mvimbi, LM

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Transport and Public Works

Mr R Mackenzie, Minister for Transport and Public Works

Mr F De Wet, Chief Financial Officer

Ms D Ribbonaar, Chief Director: Transport Operations

Mr F Payne, Director: Traffic Law Enforcement

Mr Y Ahmed, Chief Director: Transport Regulation

Ms R Davids, Acting Director: Finance

Mr C Kriegler, Acting Deputy Director

Mr R Wiggill, Director: Fleet Finance

Mr A Janse van Rensburg, Director, Fleet Services

Ms P Mndita, deputy Director Strategic Support

Mr K Booysen, Director Strategic Management

Ms N Somdoko, Head of Ministry

Mr M Pardenwachter, Office of the Minister

Ms R Campbell, Media Liaison Officer: Office of the Minister

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer

Mr S Hassam, ICT Support

Ms C Morris, ICT Support

Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee and the officials. Apologies were submitted for Ms M Moore, Head of Department and Ms B MacMahon, Acting Chief Director: Mobility Regulation.

Consideration of Vote 8: Mobility in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 1– 2024]

The Department briefed the Committee on Vote 8 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 1–2024] highlighting the main budget allocations for Vote 8.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Consideration and adoption of the Committee Report on Vote 8: Mobility in the Schedules to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 1–2024]

The Chairperson submitted a Draft Report which was considered and adopted.

4. Consideration of Draft Committee Minutes

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 4 December 2023; 5 March 2024 and 11 March 2024, which were considered and adopted.

5. Consideration of Draft Committee 3rd Quarter October 2023 – December 2023) Report

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee 3rd Quarter Report, which was considered and adopted.

6. Resolutions

The Committee resolved that the Minutes of the last meeting for the 6th Parliament, 4th Quarterly Report and the Committee's Annual Activity Report be adopted in accordance with Standing Rule 82 (4)(d) after it has been circulated to members via e-mail for any inputs.

The meeting adjourned at 16:05.

MR D AMERICA, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS