

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/22

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

Tuesday, 5 March 2024 (at 13:00), Virtual meeting via MS Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D (Chairperson) Van der Westhuizen, AP Sileku, I

African National Congress

Nkondlo, ND (Alterrnate)

Good Party

De Villiers, P

The following persons were in attendance:

Western Cape Department of Mobility

Mr R Mackenzie, Minister for Mobility Ms M Moore, Head of Department Mr F de Wet, Chief Financial Officer Ms B MacMahon, Acting Chief Director: Mobility Regulation Mr M Skriker, Acting Chief Director: Transport Regulation Mr M Brown Ms C Galant

Department of Transport

Mr N Makaepea, Deputy Director-General Adv. M Matebese, Director: Transport Appeal Tribunal (TAT) Directorate (Program Manager)

Department of the Premier

Adv S Seria, State Law Advisor Adv A Muller, State Law Advisor

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms M Khoele, Legal Advisor Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Mr S Hassam, ICT Support

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Members of the Committee, the Head of Department and Departmental officials.

2. Briefing by the National Department of Transport on the Railway Safety Bill [B 7B–2021] (NCOP)

Mr Makaepea briefed the Committee on the on the Railway Safety Bill [B 7B–2021].

The Committee deliberated.

3. Briefing by the Western Cape Mobility Department on the Transport Appeal Tribunal Amendment Bill [B 8B–2020] (NCOP) and the Railway Safety Bill [B 7B–2021] (NCOP)

Ms Moore briefed the Committee on the Railway Safety Bill [B 7B–2021] after which the Mr Brown briefed the committee on the Transport Appeal Tribunal Amendment Bill [B 8B–2020].

3. Resolutions

The Committee RESOLVED:

- 3.1 To provide the Department of Transport with the inputs from the Western Cape Department of Mobility on the Railway Safety Bill [B 7B–2021] and Transport Appeal Tribunal Amendment Bill [B 8B–2020] for their comments; and
- 3.2 That the Committee meet again on Monday, 11 March 2024 to consider the comments from the Department of Transport and adopt the Negotiating Mandates.

The meeting adjourned at 15:11.

MR D AMERICA, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY