

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

(Ref no:) 11/3/4

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS AD HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS Wednesday, 27 September 2023 (14h00), Virtual: Microsoft Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Fry, C (Chairperson) America, D Baartman, D Murray, C Pretorius, G Sileku, I Maseko, M Van der Westhuizen, A

African National Congress Lekker, P

Al Jama-ah

Brinkhuis, K

Economic Freedom Fighters Cassiem, A

GOOD De Villiers, P

,

Apologies: Marais, P (FF Plus) Christians, F (ACDP)

The following persons were in attendance:

See attached Public Attendance Register

Apologies:

Minister Bredell, Minister of Local Government Mr G Paulse, Head of Department Local Government Alder lady V Fortuin, Speaker Mossel Bay Municipality Mr C Puren, Municipal Manager Mossel Bay Municipality Knysna Municipality

Western Cape Provincial Parliament:

Ms W Achmat, Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

1. Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed the Members, the officials from the Department of Local Government and the various municipalities. The Chairperson noted the apology received from Minister Bredell who attended a Cabinet meeting and other officials.

The Chairperson explained the rules of engagement to Members and officials in respect of virtual meetings and then proceeded to the presentations.

The Chairperson allowed the Members of the Committee to introduce themselves and the delegation of the Department of Local Government and the respective municipalities.

- 2. Briefing by the Department of Local Government on the following:
- 2.1 The funding allocated to the Central Karoo District Municipality and its local municipalities.
- **2.2** The total allocation of funds awarded to each municipality, and the extent of consultations with each municipality in terms of the allocation required.
- 2.3 A list of requests from municipalities for rollovers of grants for the 2022/23 allocation for Emergency Energy Funds grant, the reason for the request for rollover and the status of these requests.
- 2.4 The formula of allocation and the basis for each allocation to each municipality to address the Energy Crisis, including any financial or market studies done on the costs for generators and any other provisions related to municipalities energy needs.

Ms E Bernard, Chief Director: Municipal Performance, Monitoring and Support briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

3. Engagement with municipalities on the projected plans for the 2023/24 Energy Infrastructure allocations including the Emergency funding allocated to assist municipalities:

3.1 Garden Route District Municipality

Mr Menze, the Executive Manager for Planning and Economic Development and Mr Stratu, the Municipal Manager, briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Chairperson thanked the municipality for its presentation and moved to the next municipality on the agenda.

3.2 Kannaland Municipality

Mr Ewusi, the Acting Director of Infrastructure Services, briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Chairperson thanked the municipality for its presentation and moved to the next municipality on the agenda.

3.3 Hessequa Municipality

Mr de Klerk, the Municipal Manager briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by Hessequa Municipality. Mr de Klerk and Mr Chikamhi, the Electric City Engineer responded to the Committee.

The Chairperson thanked the municipality and proceeded to the briefing by George Municipality.

3.4 George Municipality

Dr Gratz, the Municipal Manager briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Municipality. Dr Gratz and Mr van Wyk, the Mayor, responded to the Committee.

The Chairperson thanked the Municipality and proceeded to the next municipality on the agenda.

3.5 Oudtshoorn Municipality

Mr Swart, the Senior Manager of Water and Sanitation briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Municipality and proceeded to the next municipality on the agenda.

3.6 Bitou Municipality

Mr Memani, the Municipal Manager and Mr D Swart, the Executive Mayor briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Municipality and proceeded to the last municipality on the agenda.

3.7 Mossel Bay Municipality

Mr D Naidoo, Director for Infrastructure Services, briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Municipality for their input.

4. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee RESOLVED:

- 4.1 To invite the Knysna Municipality to the next meeting;
- 4.2 To defer the invite to City of Cape Town until they have concluded their legal proceedings with NERSA; and
- 4.3 That the Senior Procedural Officer draft the Committee report and circulate to Members for their input.

The meeting adjourned at 17:20.

MR C FRY, MPP CHAIRPERSON: AD HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS DATE: 17 APRIL 2024