

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

(Ref no:) 11/3/4

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

AD HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS

Wednesday, 13 September 2023 (14h00), Virtual: Microsoft Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Fry, C (Chairperson)

Baartman, D

Maseko, M

Mitchell, D (Speaker)

Murray, C

Pretorius, G

Sileku, I

Van der Westhuizen, A

African National Congress

Dugmore, C Nkondlo, N

African Christian Democratic Party

Christians, F

Al Jama-ah

Brinkhuis, K

Economic Freedom Fighters

Cassiem, A

Freedom Front Plus

Marais, P

GOOD

De Villiers, P

Apology:

America, D (DA)

The following persons were in attendance:

See attached Public Attendance Register

Western Cape Provincial Parliament:

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

1. Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed the Members, the Mayors, Speakers and municipal officials from the various municipalities and members of the public. The Chairperson noted the apology received from Member America. Member G Pretorius informed the Committee that the Mayor of Prince Albert are experiencing loadshedding and will join as soon as the office set up a generator to join the meeting. Ms Cloete informed the Committee that the Beaufort West Municipality apologised for not submitting its presentation as required due to technical difficulties, but the Committee will receive it during the course of the meeting.

The Chairperson explained the rules of engagement to Members and officials in respect of virtual meetings and then proceeded to the presentations.

The Chairperson allowed the Members of the Committee to introduce themselves as well as the representatives of the different municipalities and proceeded with the presentation by the Central Karoo District Municipality.

2. Engagement with municipalities on the projected plans for the 2023/24 Energy Infrastructure allocations including the Emergency funding allocated to assist municipalities:

2.1 Central Karoo District Municipality

Mr M Nkungwana, Acting Municipal Manager of the Central Karoo District Municipality, briefed the Committee on the R350 000 grant which the municipality received from the Provincial Treasury to purchase a roaming generator. The municipality advertised tenders to acquire a generator, but the costs of the generator exceeded the amount available by the municipality to purchase a roaming generator and therefore applied for the funding to be rolled over. The municipality in addition explored alternative energy solutions to move the entire Central Karoo District off the ESKOM grid.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Central Karoo District Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Central Karoo District Municipality for its presentation and moved to the next municipality on the agenda.

2.2 Laingsburg Municipality

Mr J Komanisi, the Technical Director at the municipality briefed the Committee on the R60 000 received to procure a 20 Kilo-volt-amperes (kVA) generator and informed the Committee that the municipality could unfortunately not purchase a generator for less than R130 000 and therefore requested for top-up funding from the Department of Local Government.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation of Laingsburg Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked Laingsburg Municipality and proceeded to the next item on the agenda.

2.3 Prince Albert Municipality

The Director of Technical Services, Mr Zolile Nongene, briefed the Committee on the R175 000, which the municipality received to fund the procurement of a standby generator to ensure adequate power supply to critical infrastructure installations.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by Prince Albert Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked Prince Albert Municipality for its briefing and proceeded to the briefing by Beaufort West Municipality.

2.4 Beaufort West Municipality

The Acting Director of Infrastructure Services, Mr Christopher Wright, informed the Committee that the municipality received R1 115 000 to provide generators to two (2) clean water pump stations in Merweville and Murraysburg. The project was successfully completed in June 2023 and the municipality co-funded this project.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by Beaufort West Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked Beaufort West Municipality for its presentation.

3. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee RESOLVED the following:

3.1 To invite the Department of Local Government and the Provincial Treasury to its next meeting to report on its engagements with municipalities in determining how money

- is allocated to each municipality and the formula used to allocate funding to municipalities to mitigate loadshedding.
- 3.2 To request assistance from the Department of Mineral Resources and Energy to generate capacity on wind and solar farms.
- 3.3 That Laingsburg Municipality be requested to submit the costing report related to the purchase of the Golnerville grid as part of the ESKOM grid.
- 3.4 That the Department of Local Government provide the Committee with the cost of the container battery storage project.
- 3.5 That the Committee undertakes an oversight visit to Koeberg Power Station.

4. Committee Matters

The Chairperson informed Members that the next meeting will take place on Wednesday, 27 September 2023 to engage with the Garden Route municipalities. The Chairperson liaised with the Office of the Chief Whip and two dates in November 2023 has been agreed too to meet with the Minister of Electricity, Dr Ramokgopa. The Chief Whip will formally confirm this date with the Chairperson. The date to receive a briefing from NERSA will be confirmed once the date is agreed upon.

The meeting adjourned at 11:25.

MR C FRY, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: AD HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS

DATE: 17 APRIL 2024