

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

(Ref no:) 11/3/4

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

AD HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS

Wednesday, 30 August 2023 (09h00), Virtual: Microsoft Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Fry, C (Chairperson)

America, D

Baartman, D

Bosman, G (Alternate)

Murray, C

Pretorius, G

Sileku, I

Van der Westhuizen, A

African National Congress

Dugmore, C

Nkondlo, N

Al Jama-ah

Brinkhuis, K

Economic Freedom Fighters

Cassiem, A

Freedom Front Plus

Marais, P

GOOD

De Villiers, P

Apologies:

Maseko, M (DA) Christians, F (ACDP)

The following persons were in attendance:

See attached Public Attendance Register

Western Cape Provincial Parliament:

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

1. Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed the Members, the officials from the various municipalities and guests.

The Chairperson explained the rules of engagement to Members and officials in respect of virtual meetings and then proceeded to the presentations.

The Chairperson allowed the Members of the Committee to introduce themselves and the delegation of the respective municipalities.

2. Engagement with municipalities on the projected plans for the 2023/24 Energy Infrastructure allocations including the Emergency funding allocated to assist municipalities:

2.1 Cape Winelands District Municipality

Dr E von Schlicht, the Executive Mayor, proceeded to brief the Committee on the subject at hand and thanked the provincial government for providing funds to address the energy crisis in the Cape Winelands.

Mr Henry Prins, Municipal Manager of the Cape Winelands District municipality further briefed the Committee on the grants received and the processes that followed.

The Chairperson thanked the municipality for its presentation and moved to the next municipality on the agenda.

2.2 Overberg District Municipality

Mr Andries Franken, the Executive Mayor, thanked the Western Cape Government for the contribution towards the energy crisis to assist the Overberg communities and briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

Mr Richard Bosman the Municipal Manager further briefed the Committee on the business plan for the R1.6 million allocation and plans to address the energy crisis needs in the municipal area.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by Overberg District Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the municipality and proceeded to the briefing by Theewaterskloof Municipality.

2.3 Theewaterskloof Municipality

Mr F du Toit, the Deputy Director for Electrical Sales briefed the Committee on the R1.8 million grant funding and the way it was utilised in the municipality.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Municipality and proceeded to the next municipality on the agenda.

2.4 Overstrand Municipality

The Director of Infrastructure and Planning, Mr Stephen Muller, informed the Committee that the municipality received an emergency loadshedding relief grant of R6.7 million to procure and install additional back-up generators at critical water and wastewater facilities to reduce the impact of loadshedding in providing basic services.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Municipality and proceeded to the next municipality on the agenda.

2.5 Cape Agulhas Municipality

Mr Raymond Ross, the Deputy Mayor, commenced the briefing in conveying thanks on behalf of the municipality for the grant allocated by the Wester Cape Government. The Deputy Mayor then handed over the briefing to Mr Stephen Cooper, the Manager of Electro-Technical Services within the municipality who further briefed the Committee on the impact of loadshedding in the area and the emergency interventions that followed.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Municipality and proceeded to the last municipality on the agenda.

2.6 Swellendam Municipality

The Senior Manager of Infrastructure, Mr Willem Treurnicht, rendered an apology for the absence of the Executive Mayor of Swellendam Municipality who attended to the protestors during the protest action which happened in Swellendam. Mr Treurnicht continued to brief the Committee on the R1.3 million grant received from the Western Cape Government to purchase a standby generator and he further informed the Committee of the additional needs of the municipality.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by the Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Municipality for their input.

3. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee RESOLVED that:

- 3.1 The Committee considers suggesting a unified approach to renewable energy and its application since each municipality in the province has its own plans for renewable energy.
- 3.2 The Minister of Electricity during its briefing to the Committee address the matter of the fairness of ESKOM levying penalties on customers for exceeding the maximum energy use for the period after loadshedding.
- 3.3 The Committee invites the National Treasury and South African Revenue Service (SARS) to brief the Committee on the tax incentives for installing renewable energy solutions.
- 3.4 The National Treasury along with the Banking Association of South Africa be invited to address the Committee on the financial incentives for residents actively installing or implementing renewable energy solutions.
- 3.5 The National Treasury and the umbrella insurance companies brief the Committee on an understanding of insurance options available to residents and businesses.
- 3.6 Category B municipalities provides the Committee with a breakdown of its electricity sales contribution to the annual budget and that the Category B municipalities indicate whether they are complying with the NERSA tariff.
- 3.7 The Committee expresses its concern about the discrepancy between the NERSA tariff and the ESKOM rate with regards to the cost of delivering electricity and the pressure it places on municipalities; and
- 3.8 The Committee invites the City of Cape Town and NERSA to explain the discrepancies regarding the imposition of tariff increases.

The Chairperson thanked the Sign Language Interpreters and her colleagues for their services and that the next meeting of the Ad-hoc Committee will take place on Wednesday 13 September 2024 with the Central Karoo municipalities.

The meeting adjourned at 12:30.

MR C FRY, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: AD HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS

DATE: 17 APRIL 2024