

(Ref no:) 11/3/4

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

AD HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS

Wednesday, 16 August 2023 (09h00), Virtual: Microsoft Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Fry, C (Chairperson) America, D Baartman, D Maseko, M Murray, C Pretorius, G Sileku, I Van der Westhuizen, A

African National Congress

Dugmore, C Nkondlo, N

Al Jama-ah

Brinkhuis, K

Freedom Front Plus

Marais, P

Apologies:

Cassiem, A (EFF) De Villiers, P(GOOD)

The following persons were in attendance:

See attached Public Attendance Register

Western Cape Provincial Parliament:

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

1. Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed the Members, the Mayors, Speakers and municipal officials from the various municipalities and members of the public. The Chairperson noted the apologies received from Members A Cassiem and P De Villiers as well as the apology from Mr Henry Prins, Municipal Manager of the Cape Winelands District Municipality.

The Chairperson explained the rules of engagement to Members and officials in respect of virtual meetings and then proceeded to the presentations.

The Chairperson allowed the Members of the Committee to introduce themselves and proceeded with the presentation by Witzenberg municipality.

2. Engagement with municipalities on the projected plans for the 2023/24 Energy Infrastructure allocations including the Emergency funding allocated to assist municipalities:

2.1 Witzenberg Municipality

Mr Cobus Kritzinger, Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of the Witzenberg Municipality briefed the Committee on the R450 000 received as part of the Emergency Municipal Loadshedding Relief grant to acquire generators and to service emergency backup generations.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by Witzenberg Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Witzenberg Municipality for its presentation and moved to the next municipality on the agenda.

2.2 Drakenstein Municipality

The Executive Director: Engineering Services, Mr Louis Pienaar informed the Committee that the municipality received R6 million from the Emergency Municipal Loadshedding Relief grant. Mr Pienaar further briefed the Committee on the utilization of the grant received.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation of Drakenstein Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked Drakenstein Municipality and proceeded to the next item on the agenda.

2.3 Stellenbosch Municipality

The Director of Infrastructure, Mr Shane Chandaka, informed the Committee that the Stellenbosch municipality received an Emergency Relief Fund Grant of R6,175 million. The municipality went out on tender for backup generators for key water pump stations in high-lying areas. Mr Chandaka further informed the Committee on the processes which followed post tendering.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by Stellenbosch Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked Stellenbosch Municipality and proceeded to the briefed by Breede Valley Municipality.

2.4 Breede Valley Municipality

The Director of Engineering Services, Mr Jaco Steyn, informed the Committee that the municipality was allocated R950 000 during the 2022/23 financial year from the Energy Relief Fund, but the financial needs of the municipality exceeded the allocation it received. Mr Steyn further briefed the Committee on the acquisition of generators and the use of these.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by Breede Valley Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked the Breede Valley Municipality and proceeded to the briefing by Langeberg Municipality.

2.5 Langeberg Municipality

Mr George Lotter, Manager: Electrical Engineering, briefed the Committee on the actual requirements financially of the municipality and the grant received. Langeberg Municipality received an allocated amount of R350 000 but required approximately R5 million in Emergency Funding and however placed a tender for a 300 kVA transformer for the Montague Water waste Plant.

Mr Lotter further informed the Committee that the municipality did not receive any funds from the Energy Infrastructure allocation and used its own funding for the energy infrastructure.

The Committee deliberated on the presentation by Langeberg Municipality.

The Chairperson thanked Langeberg for its presentation.

3. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee RESOLVED the following that:

- 3.1 The Committee invites Saldanha Bay IDZ, Mossgas and Wesgro to brief it on green hydrogen and the readiness for this in terms of infrastructure.
- 3.2 The municipality submits in matrix format the areas which require better capacitation, training or personnel within municipalities.
- 3.3 The Committee invites Provincial Treasury and the Department of Economic Development to brief the Committee on the funding model for Energy Resilience.
- 3.4 The Committee notes the need of municipalities to invest in solar installations or rooftop solar power systems and the notes the enormous costs or financial implications for diesel, maintenance and security systems.
- 3.5 National Treasury reviews the equitable share to the Western Cape in light of the decrease year on year in the allocation, and the current energy crisis to engage with the fiscal commission and province to deal with the energy shortage in the country.
- 3.6 The Cape Winelands District Municipality be invited to brief the Committee on 30 August 2023

The meeting adjourned at 12:47.

MR C FRY, MPP CHAIRPERSON: AD HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS DATE: 17 APRIL 2024