

## Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/4/8

#### **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

## STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Wednesday 15 March 2023 (at 14:00), Committee Room 2, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

### **PRESENT**

### **Members**

#### **Democratic Alliance**

America, D Murray, CA Van der Westhuizen, AP (Chairperson)

## **African National Congress**

Marran, P

#### **Freedom Front Plus**

Marais, PJ

## The following persons were in attendance:

## **Ministry of Agriculture**

Dr I Meyer, Minister of Agriculture Ms M van Jaarsveld, Head of Ministry Mr D Johnson, Spokesperson and Media Liaison Officer

### **Department of Agriculture**

Dr M Sebopetsa, Head of Department

Mr D Jacobs, Deputy Director-General - Agricultural Development Support Services

Dr I Trautmann, Deputy Director - General - Agricultural Research and Regulatory Services

Mr F Huysamer, Chief Financial Officer

Dr G Msiza, Chief Director - Veterinary Services

Ms H Rodkin, Chief Director - Structured Agricultural Education and Training

Dr H Ngwenya, Chief Director - Agricultural Producer Support and Development

Dr C de Brouwer, Acting Chief Director - Research and Technology Services

Dr D Troskie, Director - Business Planning and Strategy

Mr J Aries, Director - Farmer Support and Development
Ms A Petersen, Director - Sustainable Resource Management
Ms B Matoti, Director - Agricultural Economic Services
Mr F Wust, Director - Violence Prevention Through Urban Upgrading Project
Mr M Van Aswegen - Manager - Financial Accounting

### **Casidra**

Dr K du Plessis, Chief Executive Officer Mr C Boraine, Accountant

## **WCPP Officials**

Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer
Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant
Mr S Hassam, Information Technology Assistant
Ms C Morris, information Technology Assistant

## 1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister, Head of Department, Chief Executive Officer of Casidra and officials.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of the late Mr Ainsley Moos, former Chairperson of the Casidra Board.

# 2. Deliberation on Vote 11: Agriculture in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2–2023]

The Department briefed the Committee on Vote 11 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2–2023].

The Committee deliberated after which it agreed to support the Vote. The African National Congress did not support the Vote.

# 3. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Report on Vote 11: Agriculture in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2–2023]

Upon conclusion of its deliberations the Chairperson submitted a Draft Report. The African National Congress requested that their minority view be included in the Report, after which the Report was considered and adopted.

#### 4. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee **REQUESTED** that the Department of Agriculture provides it with:

- 4.1 A list of non-profit organisations that received payments in the current financial year;
- 4.2 The recent Climate Change Report that was drafted by the University of Cape Town; and
- 4.3 The Memorandum of Understanding between the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Department of Local Government and the University of Stellenbosch's School for Climate Studies.

## 5. Closing

The Chairperson expressed his appreciation to the members, the Minister of Agriculture, the Head of Department, the Chief Executive Officer of Casidra, Departmental officials as well as the officials from the Western Cape Provincial Parliament for their contribution to the success of the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 16:50.

11/

MR AP VAN DER WESTHUIZEN, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND

**DEVELOPMENT PLANNING** 

Date: ......11 April 2023.....