## Media release

Dear media partner,

The first sitting of the Fifth Parliament of the Western Cape will take place on Wednesday, 21 May 2014 in the Chamber, Sixth Floor, Provincial Legislature Building, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town at 10:30. The swearing in of all Members will take place during the sitting and will be presided over by Judge President John Hlope. He will also preside over the election of the Premier and Speaker. The newly elected Speaker will then preside over the election of the Deputy Speaker.

Members of the media that wish to cover the event need to contact Matthys Odendal (021 487 1714 or 0825751735 or <a href="modendal@wcpp.gov.za">modendal@wcpp.gov.za</a>) before 12:00 on Tuesday, 20 May for accreditation. Please provide the following: Personal information (title, first name, surname and company) and contact information (telephone number, cellphone number and email address).

Members of the media must make use of the entrance to the Legislature Building, 7 Wale Street. All media representatives must bring an ID book or driver's licence in order to gain entry to the building. The registration of media representatives will take place in the Visitors' Centre on the Ground Floor, where you will be issued with a media tag and assisted to gain entry to the building.

A number of three-pin male audio connections will be available in the Press Gallery and a further two will be available at the entrance to the Chamber for television cameras. Three-pin female connections will therefore be required to connect recording devices to the audio feed. Please ensure that you have the necessary leads.

Photographers will be allowed to shoot from the Press Gallery, the entrance to the Chamber and from behind the Speaker's dais. An official will be available to assist photographers in this area.

## Agenda:

- 1. Silent prayer/meditation
- 2. Swearing in of Members
- 3. Announcement of appointment of Returning Officer and Assistant Returning Officers
- 4. Election of Premier
- 5. Election of Speaker
- 6. Election of Deputy Speaker
- 7. Appointment of NCOP delegates
- 8. Adjournment