Public hearings on Western Cape Provincial Road Traffic Administration Amendment Bill

The Standing Committee on Transport and Public Works invites stakeholders and interested persons and organisations to attend public hearings and to make written submissions on the Western Cape Provincial Road Traffic Administration Amendment Bill [B 3–2017].


One of the purposes of the amendment bill is to empower the provincial minister to make regulations for the impounding of vehicles for certain road traffic offences; as well as to prescribe fees payable in respect of impounded vehicles. It is also a purpose of the bill to empower the provincial minister to develop plans and make regulations to promote and improve road safety in the province.


Interested persons and organisations are encouraged to attend and participate in the public hearings and to submit written inputs on the amendment bill to the standing committee for consideration.


The public hearings will take place as follows:






31 October



Die Bult Youth Centre, 68 CJ Langenhoven Road, Heatherlands

1 November



Worcester Town Hall, 93 High Street, Worcester

14 November


Cape Town

Chamber, 6th Floor, Provincial Legislature Building, 7 Wale Street

15 November



Alan Boesak Community Hall, Zebra Street


Written submissions on the amendment bill must reach Ms Shareen Niekerk, Committee Co-ordinator, 4th Floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town 8001, by no later than 12:00 on Monday 27 November 2017. Requests to make verbal presentations at the public hearings must reach the Committee Co-ordinator at least two days before the hearing date.


The amendment bill can be accessed here. All interested persons who wish to attend the public hearing in Cape Town must present proof of identity (identity document, identity card, passport or driver's licence) to gain access to the Provincial Legislature Building.


For enquiries, copies of the amendment bill or to arrange for an interview, please contact Ms Shareen Niekerk Tel 021 487 1992, Fax 021 487 1685, Cell 082 877 7477 or Email or Hon Nceba Hinana, Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Transport and Public Works, Cell 072 876 2470 or Email

Feature on Home Page Carousel: