Social Development

The mandate of the Standing Committee on Social Development is to facilitate public participation, monitoring and oversight function over the legislative processes relating to portfolio under this committee; confer with relevant governmental and civil society organs on matters relevant to this committee; exercise compliance and performance oversight over the relevant departments falls within this committee; scrutinize and interrogate annual reports, budget votes of departments falling within this committee; enhance and develop the capacity of its Members to exercise effective oversight over the Executive Authority in education; monitor whether the Department of Social Development fulfils its mandate; and responsible for the consideration of provincial bills and NCOP (76 Bills).

The Departments of Social Development reports to this Committee.


    Hon Gillion Bosman (DA)    
Hon Ricardo Mackenzie (DA) Hon Wendy Philander (DA) Hon Ntombezanele Bakubaku-Vos (ANC) Hon Nosipho Makamba-Botya (EFF)  
    Alternate Members    
  Hon Deidré Baartman (DA) Hon Loranne Botha (DA) Hon Mireille Wenger (DA)  
  Hon Ayanda Bans (ANC) Hon Rachel Windvogel (ANC) Hon Melikhaya Xego (EFF)